Bucs gear up for 2011 A-Sun Indoor Championships

Thursday, February 17, 2011

JOHNSON CITY, Tenn. (Feb. 16, 2011) - The ETSU men's and women's track and field teams are set to host the 2011 Atlantic Sun Indoor Championships this weekend on the David E. Walker Track inside the ETSU/MSHA Athletic Center.
The two-day event starts Friday at 8:30 a.m. with the women's pentathlon, while Saturday's events are slated to begin at 8:30 a.m. with the meet concluding around 4:15 p.m.
The conference will keep the same scoring system from 2010 that saw the top eight athletes score points in each event. ETSU enters the meet as the favorites in six events on the men's side - 60m, 400m, 60mH, 4x400m relay, triple jump and shot put, and two events on the women's side - 60m, 400m.
"Last year's men's championship left a horrible taste in our mouths, and we have been working very hard to make sure that nothing like that ever happens again," said assistant coach Eli Sunquist. "Our men have been doing well all season, and we are looking forward to seeing them perform at a much higher level this weekend.  Our goal is not only to win, but also to break some conference records and place as many men as we can in the top three."
The men's team came up just short in 2010 finishing four points back of Kennesaw State for the A-Sun Championship. Currently the men are ranked 14th the USTFCCCA NCAA Division I South Region Poll.
Ifrish Alberg (Paramaribo, Suriname) still holds the top 60m time in the A-Sun (6.81), while Mike James (Palm Bay, Fla.) also has a top time in the 60m hurdles (7.97). Sophomore Tim O'Dell (Palm Coast, Fla.) also leads the A-Sun in the 400m (49.15), and the Bucs have also posted the top 4x400m time this season running almost a second faster than North Florida at 3:18.96.
Newcomers Stephond Allmond (Memphis, Tenn.) and Jesse Aliaga-Jacob (Nice, France) will look to make an impact in the men's heptathlon, while senior Jarrod Burton (Bastian, Va.) will look to win both the shot put and weight throw in his final indoor meet inside of the ETSU/MSHA Athletic Center.
Sophomore Ryan Beaver (Virginia Beach, Va.) also holds the top mark in the triple jump after posting a mark of 49-7 at the Liberty Open.
"For the women we are looking to have our best team finish in years, as well as possibly double our point total from last year's meet," Sunquist added. "This would help us make the kind of progress that we are looking for in our women's program."
On the women's side, Emani Harrison (Columbia, S.C.) holds the top time in the 60m (7.64), while Jasmine Ingram (Fredrick, Md.) is tops in the 400m (55.11) and will look to take the 200m as well.
Also expected to score big on the women's side will be newcomers Lexie Burley (Johnson City, Tenn.) in the triple jump and Leah Oakhill (Brisbane, Australia) in the high jump and Pentathlon.
Fans can follow the meet live at www.cfpitiming.com. For more information on Buccaneer track and field, visit www.ETSUBucs.com.

Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
WBB High Point University 76 Final
Nov 17 ETSU 84
MBB Virginia-Wise 66 F
Nov 18 ETSU 111
WBB Appalachian State University 76 Final
Nov 19 ETSU 70
WBB ETSU 79 Final
Nov 21 Saint Francis University 63
VB ETSU Greensboro, N.C.
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. No. 5 Western Carolina (SoCon Quarterfinal)
MBB UNC Asheville 87 F
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. ETSU 98
Nov 24, 12:00 p.m. Winthrop 64
WBB ETSU 69 Final
Nov 24, 12:00 p.m. Indiana State University 76
WBB ETSU 69 Final
Nov 26, 12:00 p.m. Indiana University 97
WBB ETSU Blacksburg, Va.
Nov 29, 5:00 p.m. Virginia Tech University
MBB ETSU Morehead, Ky.
Dec 1, 7:00 p.m. Morehead State
WBB ETSU Fairfax, Va.
Dec 3, 5:00 p.m. George Mason University
MBB Western Carolina Freedom Hall
Dec 3, 8:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Huntsville, Ala.
Dec 6, 6:00 p.m. Alabama A&M University
MBB UNC Greensboro Freedom Hall
Dec 13, 4:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB Eastern Kentucky University Johnson City, Tenn.
Dec 13, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Morehead, Ky.
Dec 15, 12:00 p.m. Morehead State University
MBB ETSU Richmond, Ky.
Dec 16, 7:00 p.m. Eastern Kentucky