Three ETSU women named to All A-Sun golf team
Wahl, Evans and Vizcarrondo were all named to the All A-Sun team on Wednesday.
Wahl, Evans and Vizcarrondo were all named to the All A-Sun team on Wednesday.

Wednesday, April 25, 2012

Wahl earns league’s top freshman honor; Wahl, Evans, Vizcarrondo voted to list

JOHNSON CITY, Tenn. (April 25, 2012) – Fresh off an individual victory at the 2012 Atlantic Sun Conference women’s golf championships, ETSU freshman Gabriella Wahl (Heidenheim, Germany) was named the league’s freshman of the year on Wednesday.

In addition, Wahl was joined by sophomore Sian Evans (Gillingham, England) on the All-Atlantic Sun Conference first team, while senior Mayte Vizcarrondo (Cadiz, Spain) earned second team honors. Wahl was an unanimous first-team pick, as voted by the league’s coaches.

"It is very exciting to not only celebrate the honors earned but to look  ahead to next season with such a team of determined young ladies," said ETSU head coach Stefanie Shelton. "Earning the second straight freshman of the year indicates the level of talent this team is bearing. Sian had another consistent year with strong performances that led the team to many of our best finishes. She had health issues this year that could have held her back, but she fought through them and earned her first team honor with her best scoring average and many top finishes.

"Gabriella had a 71.6 scoring average this spring. She works extremely hard on her game and expects to always be great. Her game came together this spring and she went off winning our final two events with under-par scores. I am proud of her honors and expect her to earn many more during her career. Mayte has been a very consistent talent throughout her career. I was extrememly proud of her final performance at conference. She left her heart out there on the golf course and I am very proud that her year long efforts earned her all conference honors. She will be missed, but I know she has helped this team reach new levels of success."

Stetson’s Alexandria Buelow made it a perfect three-for-three for her career as she earned her third-straight A-Sun Women’s Golfer of the Year honor, becoming the only student-athlete in A-Sun women’s golf history to win three Golfer of the Year awards.

Buelow also landed unanimous first team all-conference honors alongside Wahl. Wahl caught the attention of the league by winning the 2012 A-Sun Championship individual medalist honors after defeating Mercer’s Lacey Fears in a two-hole playoff. A sophomore, Fears garnered first-team distinction for the first time in her career.

Kennesaw State’s Ket Preamcheun and Evans completed the first team as the Owls and Buccaneers each placed three student-athletes on the all-conference teams. For Preamchuen, it marks her third-straight year with first-team honors joining Buelow as two of 21 A-Sun student-athletes to receive three all-conference honors. Buelow’s senior teammate Lauren Cate also achieved the feat by earning second-team recognition in 2012.

Two Owls landed second-team honors as freshmen Léa Charpier and Ines Lescudier were joined by Jacksonville freshman Natalie Schmett. Vizcarrondo accompanied Mercer’s Mary Alice Murphy to complete the second team.

Wahl and Schmett led the All-Freshmen Team which included three Kennesaw State first-year players; Charpier, Lescudier and Kaew Preamchuen. Mercer’s Sarah Louie Brown capped the six-person all-freshmen team.

Kennesaw State Head Coach Rhyll Brinsmead received the A-Sun Coach of the Year honors after guiding the Owls to a four-stroke victory at the 2012 Atlantic Sun Women’s Golf Championship. It marked the first team title in Owls’ program history and the first Coach of the Year honors for the fifth-year head coach.

Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
MCC NCAA South Regional Tallahassee, Fla.
Nov 14 13 of 22
WCC NCAA South Regional Tallahassee, Fla.
Nov 14 23 of 29
VB ETSU 3 Charleston, S.C.
Nov 14 The Citadel 1
WBB ETSU 81 Final
Nov 14 University of North Carolina at Asheville 68
Nov 14 Valparaiso 90
VB ETSU 3 Macon, Ga.
Nov 15 Mercer University 1
WBB High Point University 76 Final
Nov 17 ETSU 84
MBB Virginia-Wise 66 F
Nov 18 ETSU 111
WBB Appalachian State University 76 Final
Nov 19 ETSU 70
WBB ETSU 79 Final
Nov 21 Saint Francis University 63
VB ETSU Greensboro, N.C.
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. No. 5 Western Carolina (SoCon Quarterfinal)
MBB UNC Asheville 87 F
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. ETSU 98
MBB ETSU Rock Hill, S.C.
Nov 24, 7:00 p.m. Winthrop
WBB ETSU Terre Haute, Ind.
Nov 24, 8:00 p.m. Indiana State University
WBB ETSU Bloomington, Ind.
Nov 26, 2:00 p.m. Indiana University
WBB ETSU Blacksburg, Va.
Nov 29, 5:00 p.m. Virginia Tech University
MBB ETSU Morehead, Ky.
Dec 1, 7:00 p.m. Morehead State
WBB ETSU Fairfax, Va.
Dec 3, 5:00 p.m. George Mason University
MBB Western Carolina Freedom Hall
Dec 3, 8:00 p.m. ETSU