ETSU Women's Golf Places Four on All-Conference Team

Friday, June 11, 2010

MACON, Ga. (June 11, 2010) - After earning their first NCAA at-large berth, the ETSU women's golf team continues to pile up more accolades as four players were named to the Atlantic Sun All-Conference team, the league announced today.


ETSU, who finished 12th at the NCAA East Regional, placed four players between the First and Second Teams. Laura Jansone (Jurmala, Latvia), who won her second A-Sun individual title, earned First-Team honors for the third time. Nina Muehl (Vienna, Austria), a Second-Team and All-Freshman performer in 2009, moved up to the First Team this year. Muehl became the first women's golfer in Buccaneer history to participate in the NCAA Championships after finishing in a tie for fourth at the NCAA Regional, highlighted by an 8-under 64 in the first round - the lowest round shot in women's college golf this season. Sinead O'Sullivan (Galway, Ireland) and Mayte Vizcarrondo (Cadiz, Spain) both earned Second-Team honors.


In addition to her other historic achievements during the NCAA East Regional, Muehl also set a new school record for two-round score with a 140 (64-76), and matched her own program record for three-round score at 213. She also becomes only the second women's golfer in Atlantic Sun Conference history to earn an individual berth. Muehl finished the season with a team best stroke average of 74.5.


Jansone finished the season with a 75.9 stroke average and recorded three top-15 finishes on the season. In addition to her victory at the A-Sun Championships, Jansone also finished tied for sixth at the Lady Paladin Invitational, back in September.


O'Sullivan recorded five top-15 finishes on the year including a tie for second at the Palmetto Intercollegiate, back in October.  She also had two other top-five finishes on the year and recorded a 75.4 stroke average.


Vizcarrondo completed the season with three top-15 finishes that included a fourth place finish at the Rebel Intercollegiate. She fired a final round 70 in the event, which was her low round of the season. She compiled a 75.5 stroke average during the season.


A second consecutive Atlantic Sun Women's Golf Championship for Stetson has resulted in the Hatters sweeping the postseason awards. Alexandria Buelow became the first to win both the Freshman of the Year and Player of the Year award in the same season and Floyd Kerr won his second Coach of the Year award.


Campbell's Mary Mattson extended the Camels' streak of placing a golfer on the First Team to 14 straight years as she closed out her collegiate career with her third First-Team honor. Her teammate, Sarah Bejgrowicz earned Second-Team honors and Teresa Urquizu landed on the All-Freshman team.


Two additional freshmen joined Buelow on the All-Atlantic Sun squads. Kennesaw State's Ket Premchuen became the first Owl to make an all-conference squad as she landed on the First Team as she recorded seven top-10 finishes, including a fourth-place showing at the A-Sun Championship.


FGCU's Briana Carlson made the Second Team after seven top-10 finishes in nine tournaments, including a win at the season-opening Lady Eagle Invitational. She finished her freshman campaign by taking third at the A-Sun Championship.


Stetson's Danielle Jackson and Anna Hancock added to the accolades earned by the A-Sun champions. Jackson, last year's medalist, made the Second Team after consecutive years on the First Team. Hancock joined Buelow on the All-Freshman team.


Fans can keep up-to-date on the team throughout the offseason and summer months by visiting and clicking on the women's golf link.

Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
Sep 20 USC Upstate Fall Classic
Sep 20 UVa Ranked Plus One Invitational
VB ETSU 1 Richmond, Va.
Sep 20 University of Virginia 3
MSOC South Carolina 1 F OT
Sep 20 ETSU 2
Sep 21 USC Upstate Fall Classic
WGOLF Lady Paladin Invitational Greenville, S.C.
Sep 21 11th of 18
Sep 21 UVa Ranked Plus One Invitational
SB Virginia Tech Johnson City, Tenn.
Sep 21, 12:00 p.m. ETSU
SB Virginia Tech Johnson City, Tenn.
Sep 21, 2:00 p.m. ETSU
WSOC Tennessee 3 F
Sep 21, 2:00 p.m. ETSU 0
MGOLF Inverness Intercollegiate Invitational Toledo, Ohio
Sep 22 Results
MGOLF Inverness Intercollegiate Invitational Toledo, Ohio
Sep 23 1st of 12
Sep 23 Winthrop 4
VB Furman University 3 Johnson City, Tenn.
Sep 23 ETSU 0
MCC Spartan Invitational Kernersville, N.C.
Sep 26 1 of 6
WCC Spartan Invitational Kernersville, N.C.
Sep 26 1 of 6
WSOC Furman 3 F
Sep 26 ETSU 0
FB ETSU Johnson City, Tenn.
Sep 27 Game Time 101 Event (First official scrimmage)
VB ETSU 3 Chattanooga, Tenn.
Sep 27 University of Tennessee at Chattanooga 1