Eight ETSU Athletes Named to SoCon Softball Preseason All-League Teams

Wednesday, January 21, 2004

SPARTANBURG, S.C. (Jan. 21, 2004) -- The Southern Conference announced Tuesday its 2004 softball preseason all-conference teams, as voted on by the league's head coaches. East Tennessee State led the balloting with eight players represented. Senior pitcher Tiffany McVay (Soddy-Daisy, Tenn.), sophomore outfielder Janine Sprague Hillsborough, N.C.), and senior designated player Julia Chance (Knoxville, Tenn.) were the Bucs' first team members. Sprague was a first-team selection last year after setting single-season school records in batting average (.327), on base percentage (.417), runs (33), and hits (53). She was the only freshman to start in all 54 games. McVay earned second-team accolades last year, including all-tournament team recognition following ETSU's runner-up finish at the 2003 SoCon Softball Championships in Chattanooga. McVay was the named the team's Most Valuable Player in 2003. She went 14-10 on the mound with a 2.36 ERA in 178.1 innings pitched. She had five shutouts during her junior campaign and led the team in strikeouts (83). On offense, McVay stole 10 bases in 11 attempts and tied for the team lead with five homeruns. Chance played in 40 games last season. Defensively, she helped anchor the middle infield and turned eight double plays in addition to 58 assists and 73 putouts, all career highs. Chance also received special recognition by the National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA), given to student-athletes with over a 3.5 grade point average. ETSU's second-team members were: senior first baseman Miranda Byerly (Candler, N.C.), senior utility player Sheryl Clark (Bradenton, Fla.), junior outfielder Danielle Spetar(Knoxville, Tenn.), junior third baseman Lindsay Lane (Erwin, Tenn.), and sophomore catcher Jessica Lonsinger (Dale City, Va.). The Buccaneers will open their season on Friday, February 13 when they will host Mars Hill at Kiwanis Park. 2004 SoCon Preseason All-Conference Softball Teams First Team P Rachael Stern, College of Charleston P Tiffany McVay, East Tennessee State C Samantha Steiner, Georgia Southern 1B Jenny Gustin, Elon 2B Joni Gomez, UNC Greensboro SS Jennifer Hubbard, UNC Greensboro 3B Melissa Ramirez, Chattanooga OF Amanda Cone, College of Charleston OF Janine Sprague, East Tennessee State OF LaKerah Barr, Furman DP Julia Chance, East Tennessee State U Jamie Dupont, Elon Second Team P Natalie Smith, College of Charleston P Jordan Arnold, Appalachian State C Sarah Gough, Appalachian State Jessica Lonsinger, East Tennessee State 1B Miranda Byerly, East Tennessee State 2B Brooke Flowers, College of Charleston SS Jacquie Rothey, College of Charleston 3B Lindsay Lane, East Tennessee State OF Jessica Swearengin, Elon OF Danielle Spetar, East Tennessee State OF Wendy Lewis, Appalachian State U Sheryl Clark, East Tennessee State
Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
Oct 21 ITA Ohio Valley Regionals
MSOC ETSU 4 Lexington, Va.
Oct 21 VMI 0
VB The Citadel 0 Johnson City, Tenn.
Oct 21 ETSU 3
FB ETSU Kingsport, Tenn.
Oct 23, 6:00 p.m. Scrimmage at J. Fred Johnson Stadium
MSOC ETSU 0 Greenville, S.C.
Oct 24, 6:00 p.m. Furman 3
VB ETSU 2 Birmingham, Ala.
Oct 24, 6:00 p.m. Samford University 3
WGOLF Palmetto Intercollegiate Kiawah Island, S.C.
Oct 26 10th of 20
WSOC ETSU 2 Cullowhee, N.C.
Oct 26 Western Carolina 3
MSOC UNC Greensboro 1 OT
Oct 28 ETSU 0
MBB Blue/Gold Scrimmage Freedom Hall
Oct 30, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
MCC Southern Conference Championship Kernersville, N.C.
Oct 31
WCC Southern Conference Championship Kernersville, N.C.
Oct 31
WTEN ETSU Knoxville, Tenn.
Oct 31 University of Tennessee Fall Invite
VB ETSU Greensboro, N.C.
Oct 31, 7:00 p.m. University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Nov 1, 7:00 p.m. University of Tennessee Fall Invite
WBB Milligan College Johnson City, Tenn.
Nov 1, 12:00 p.m. ETSU
FB ETSU Johnson City, Tenn.
Nov 1, 3:00 p.m. Homecoming scrimmage
WSOC ETSU Johnson City, Tenn.
Nov 1, 5:30 p.m. UNC Greensboro
VB University of Tennessee at Chattanooga Johnson City, Tenn.
Nov 1, 7:00 p.m. ETSU