Sanford, Taylor earn A-Sun All-Tournament Team honors
Jeremy Taylor (left) and Jordan Sanford (right) were named to the A-Sun All-Tournament Team on Sunday.
Jeremy Taylor (left) and Jordan Sanford (right) were named to the A-Sun All-Tournament Team on Sunday.

Sunday, May 25, 2014

FT. MYERS, Fla. (May 25, 2014) – ETSU junior Jordan Sanford (Powell, Tenn.) and sophomore Jeremy Taylor (Fayetteville, Ga.) were named to the Atlantic Sun All-Tournament Team, which was announced following the championship game on Sunday.

The Buccaneer duo combined to hit .448 (13-29) for the tournament and ended the season keeping their respective streaks intact. Sanford ended the season reaching base safely in 20 straight games and Taylor ended the year with a nine-game hit streak.

For the tournament, Sanford hit .462 (6-13) with one double, one RBI and scored two runs. The junior infielder/outfielder hit safely in all three games, while posting a three-hit effort in the 5-2 setback to Stetson. Sanford began the tournament going 1-for-4 with a run scored in the extra-inning loss to Kennesaw State and went 2-for-5 with a double, run scored, and an RBI in the 7-1 victory over Mercer.

Taylor, who was named to the all-tournament team for the second straight year, was 7-for-16 (.438) with two doubles, one home run, four runs and four RBI in the three games for the Blue and Gold. The ETSU outfielder registered multi-hit games in each outing as he began the championship with two hits, one double, one run and three RBI against Kennesaw State. From there, Taylor followed up that performance with two more hits in the win over Mercer and finished with a three-hit effort versus Stetson. Taylor was a triple shy of the cycle against the Hatters as he doubled, homered and scored both of the Buccaneer runs.

Kennesaw State’s Brennan Morgan was named Tournament MVP as the Owls won their first-ever A-Sun Championship by defeating Lipscomb, 7-1, on Sunday afternoon in Ft. Myers. Joining Morgan on the all-tournament team were teammates Max Pentecost, Matt Bahnick and Bo Way. Lipscomb’s Ian Martinez-McGraw and Grant Massey, Florida Gulf Coast’s Jack English and Nick Rivera, and Stetson’s Taylor Cockrell rounded out the all-tournament team selections.

ETSU fans wanting to receive Buccaneer news, score updates, in-game promotions and much more sent to their mobile device can do so by signing up for “Buc Updates.” Click here to sign up today!

Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
MGOLF Puerto Rico Classic San Juan, Puerto Rico
Feb 24 T11 of 15
Feb 26 Citadel 74
WTRACK Southern Conference Championships Birmingham, Ala.
Feb 27 Results
MTEN Tennessee Tech 0 Bristol, Tenn.
Feb 27 ETSU 7
WTEN ETSU 6 Akron, Ohio
Feb 28 Akron 1
WTRACK Southern Conference Championships Birmingham, Ala.
Feb 28 3 of 9
BB Butler 1 Johnson City, Tenn.
Feb 28 ETSU 4
WBB ETSU 42 Final
Feb 28 University of Tennessee at Chattanooga 64
SB ETSU 10 5
Feb 28 Morehead St. 1
SB ETSU 5 Savannah, Ga.
Feb 28 UMBC 7
Feb 28 Mercer 69
BB Butler 9 Johnson City, Tenn.
Feb 28 ETSU 3
BB Butler 6 Johnson City, Tenn.
Mar 1 ETSU 12
BB Radford 1 Johnson City, Tenn.
Mar 3 ETSU 9
WTEN ETSU 3 Rock Hill, S.C.
Mar 4 Winthrop 4
BB ETSU 6 Asheville, N.C.
Mar 4 UNC-Asheville 8
WBB ETSU 73 Final
Mar 5 No. 7 Western Carolina 53