A-Sun.TV now provided as a Free Service

Thursday, August 02, 2012

MACON, Ga. (Aug. 2, 2012 – The Atlantic Sun Conference’s online video distribution service, ASun.TV, has moved from a subscription model to a free one effective fall 2012.

 The decision to make the more than 600 regular season and A-Sun Championship events available at no charge was made in July by administrators at the annual A-Sun Spring Meetings. Previously, only A-Sun Championship events were available at no charge.

 “We are very excited to announce this decision, because it is one that will benefit us on multiple fronts,” said A-Sun Commissioner Ted Gumbart. “Providing equal access to everyone will enable us to grow our audience and to more effectively feature the accomplishments of our student-athletes. Plus, growing our audience can only help stimulate interest and exhibit the value of partnership with the A-Sun among potential sponsors. It really is a win-win for our student-athletes, our institutions and the A-Sun brand.”

 Viewers will still be required to set up and utilize login information to view the events, and current subscribers will also be receiving information with directions on how to create and activate new logins.

 Each of the 10 A-Sun member institutions develop a schedule of home events to broadcast, with ASun.TV broadcasts featuring action from more than half of the conference’s 19 sponsored sports.

 The A-Sun provides ASun.TV via a partnership with NeuLion, a leading IPTV company that has partnerships with and provides services to over 200 professional and collegiate sports properties, most ofwhich are based in North America and to over 200 international television channels from over 40 countries.

 The Atlantic Sun Conference is an NCAA Division I league with 10 member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The A-Sun meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the A-Sun boasts six of the top eight media markets in the Southeast. The A-Sun includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: East Tennessee State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, Mercer University, University of North Florida, Northern Kentucky University, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University.

Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
SB North Florida 4
Apr 13 ETSU 2
BB University of North Florida 4 Johnson City, Tenn.
Apr 13 ETSU 10
WGOLF Atlantic Sun Conference Championships Jekyll Island, Ga.
Apr 14 1st of 10
SB Furman 7 Johnson City, Tenn.
Apr 16 ETSU 3
SB Furman 0
Apr 16 ETSU 5
BB ETSU 6 Jacksonville, Fla.
Apr 17 Jacksonville University 13
WTRACK War Eagle Invitational Auburn, Ala.
Apr 19 Results
MTRACK War Eagle Invitational Auburn, Ala.
Apr 19 Results
MTEN ETSU 4 Jacksonville, Fla.
Apr 19 Stetson 0
Apr 19 Jacksonville University 3
Apr 19 Jacksonville 3
Apr 19 Jacksonville
Apr 19 Jacksonville University
MGOLF Atlantic Sun Championship Braselton, Ga.
Apr 20 Results
Apr 20 FGCU 1