ETSU set to take on Kennesaw State in Atlantic Sun Championship quarterfinals

Wednesday, November 16, 2011

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (November 16, 2011) – The No. 5-seeded ETSU volleyball team will take on No.4-seeded Kennesaw State in the quarterfinals of the Atlantic Sun Championship on Thursday night at 8:30 p.m. (ET) inside Allen Arena.

The Bucs and Owls meet for the second third time this season as the two teams split the first two meetings. Kennesaw State earned a 3-0 win over ETSU in Johnson City back on October 22, while the Bucs got revenge the very next week by knocking off the Owls on October 28 in Kennesaw.

ETSU enters the tournament with a 13-14 overall record and finished 7-6 in the A-Sun, while Kennesaw State heads into Thursday’s match with a 13-15 overall mark and a 8-5 conference record.

Sophomore Megan Devine (Kingsport, Tenn.), senior Jamie Stancliff (Advance, N.C.) and freshman Meredith Hardy (Kingsport, Tenn.) each earned A-Sun all-conference honors on Tuesday. Devine was named First-Team All-Atlantic Sun, Stancliff earned Second-Team All-Atlantic Sun and Hardy was named to the All-Freshman Team.

Devine ranks second in the A-Sun in both kills and points. She has recorded 14 double-doubles on the season and four straight overall. Meanwhile, Stancliff leads the A-Sun in blocks with 1.11 per set. In fact, Stancliff leads the A-Sun amongst current student-athletes with 321 career blocks. She is just 12 away from tying for 10th most all-time in conference history.

No. 5-seeds are just 2-14 in quarterfinal matches of the Atlantic Sun Championship under the current format. However, ETSU was the last No. 5-seed to win a quarterfinal match as the Bucs knocked off No. 4 Mercer in 2008.

The Bucs are looking to make a run in the Atlantic Sun Championship for the second straight season. ETSU, the No. 3-seed in 2010, knocked off No. 6 North Florida in the quarterfinals and No. 2-seeded Kennesaw State in the semifinals, to advance to its first ever Atlantic Sun Championship final. There have been 12 times in A-Sun Championship history that the defending tournament runner-up has returned to the championship final the following year. On four occasions, they have won the title.

The winner of the ETSU/Kennesaw State match will take on top-seeded Belmont on Friday night at 8:30 p.m. (ET) in semifinal action.

For fans unable to attend the tournament in Nashville, each match of the Atlantic Sun Championship will be shown live on ASun.TV free of charge.

For more information on ETSU volleyball please visit and click on the volleyball link.

Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
MBB Virginia-Wise 66 F
Nov 18 ETSU 111
WBB Appalachian State University 76 Final
Nov 19 ETSU 70
WBB ETSU 79 Final
Nov 21 Saint Francis University 63
VB ETSU Greensboro, N.C.
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. No. 5 Western Carolina (SoCon Quarterfinal)
MBB UNC Asheville 87 F
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. ETSU 98
Nov 24, 12:00 p.m. Winthrop 64
WBB ETSU 69 Final
Nov 24, 12:00 p.m. Indiana State University 76
WBB ETSU 69 Final
Nov 26, 12:00 p.m. Indiana University 97
WBB ETSU Blacksburg, Va.
Nov 29, 5:00 p.m. Virginia Tech University
MBB ETSU Morehead, Ky.
Dec 1, 7:00 p.m. Morehead State
WBB ETSU Fairfax, Va.
Dec 3, 5:00 p.m. George Mason University
MBB Western Carolina Freedom Hall
Dec 3, 8:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Huntsville, Ala.
Dec 6, 6:00 p.m. Alabama A&M University
MBB UNC Greensboro Freedom Hall
Dec 13, 4:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB Eastern Kentucky University Johnson City, Tenn.
Dec 13, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Morehead, Ky.
Dec 15, 12:00 p.m. Morehead State University
MBB ETSU Richmond, Ky.
Dec 16, 7:00 p.m. Eastern Kentucky
WBB ETSU Wilmington, N.C.
Dec 19, 11:30 a.m. University of North Carolina Wilmington