Hoilman named a Lowe's Senior CLASS Award finalist

Wednesday, April 20, 2011

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (April 20, 2011) - Senior Paul Hoilman (Johnson City, Tenn.) was named one of ten NCAA® baseball student-athletes who excel both on and off the field as the finalists for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award were selected Tuesday, announced Premier Sports Management.
To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence - community, classroom, character and competition.
"When I consider the four criteria for this award: community, classroom, character and competition, no one is more fitting of an honoree for the Lowe's Senior Class Award than Paul," said Assistant Athletic Director of Academic Services Bob Baker. "The general public can read the stats, home run numbers and know about his athletics accomplishments, but the difference he makes in the community, his outstanding academics, the way he leads his teammates everyday and his overall character are the things that I respect and admire the most about Paul.  We are fortunate to have him in our Buccaneer family, and I am personally happy for him to be recognized by Lowe's."
An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. 
The finalists were chosen by a media committee from the list of 30 candidates announced in February. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help determine the winner. Fans are encouraged to vote via the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award website or on the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award Facebook fan page through June 5. Fan votes will be combined with media and coaches votes to determine the winner.
Hoilman joins Chris Dennis of Portland, Brandon Eckerle of Michigan State, Clint Ewing of Louisiana Tech, Cole Green of Texas, Frazier Hall of Southern University, Cole Johnson of  Notre Dame, Chris Slater of Baylor, Cory Tilton of UNC Charlotte and Tyler Wilson of Virginia on the list of finalists.
On the season, Hoilman is hitting .294 with 12 doubles, nine home runs and 23 RBI. The reigning Atlantic Sun Player of the Year, Hoilman became the conference home run king on April 13 with his 59th career home run. Currently, Hoilman holds 12 ETSU single season and career records having put together arguably the best career in Buccaneer baseball history.
Lowe's, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the winner June 24 at the NCAA College World Series® in Omaha.
For more information on all the candidates, visit www.seniorCLASSaward.com. For more information on Buccaneer baseball or any other athletic news, please visit www.ETSUBucs.com.

Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
WBB High Point University 76 Final
Nov 17 ETSU 84
MBB Virginia-Wise 66 F
Nov 18 ETSU 111
WBB Appalachian State University 76 Final
Nov 19 ETSU 70
WBB ETSU 79 Final
Nov 21 Saint Francis University 63
VB ETSU Greensboro, N.C.
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. No. 5 Western Carolina (SoCon Quarterfinal)
MBB UNC Asheville 87 F
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. ETSU 98
Nov 24, 12:00 p.m. Winthrop 64
WBB ETSU 69 Final
Nov 24, 12:00 p.m. Indiana State University 76
WBB ETSU Bloomington, Ind.
Nov 26, 2:00 p.m. Indiana University
WBB ETSU Blacksburg, Va.
Nov 29, 5:00 p.m. Virginia Tech University
MBB ETSU Morehead, Ky.
Dec 1, 7:00 p.m. Morehead State
WBB ETSU Fairfax, Va.
Dec 3, 5:00 p.m. George Mason University
MBB Western Carolina Freedom Hall
Dec 3, 8:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Huntsville, Ala.
Dec 6, 6:00 p.m. Alabama A&M University
MBB UNC Greensboro Freedom Hall
Dec 13, 4:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB Eastern Kentucky University Johnson City, Tenn.
Dec 13, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Morehead, Ky.
Dec 15, 12:00 p.m. Morehead State University
MBB ETSU Richmond, Ky.
Dec 16, 7:00 p.m. Eastern Kentucky