Tubbs to compete in Denny's Slam Dunk contest
Senior Justin Tubbs skies for a slam against Ohio in the CIT quarterfinals.
Senior Justin Tubbs skies for a slam against Ohio in the CIT quarterfinals.

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

ETSU senior is one of eight to compete for national title;
Hall of Famers Karl Malone and Calvin Murphy to be on judges' panel

            JOHNSON CITY, Tenn. (March 29, 2011) - ETSU senior guard Justin Tubbs (Trussville, Ala.) has been selected as one of eight participants to compete in the Denny's Slam Dunk Championship Thursday evening, March 31, at the Hofheinz Pavilion on the University of Houston campus.

The event will air on tape-delay that same evening at 9 p.m. on ESPN2, as part of the State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships.

            Tubbs, who has been known as a high-flying, athletic guard throughout his time at ETSU, was twice selected as an ESPN No. 1 Top Play of the Day for his 360 degree dunks against Kennesaw State (Jan. 29) and Jacksonville (Feb. 11) this past season.

He will also attempt to carry on an ETSU tradition in the dunk contest, as he will attempt to join former ETSU star Calvin Talford (Castlewood, Va.) as a national dunk champion. Talford won that inaugural event back in 1992.

Those competing for the Denny's Slam Dunk Championship: Gilbert Brown, Pittsburgh; Justin Burrell, St. John's; Will Coleman, Memphis; Justin Tubbs, East Tennessee State; Billy White, San Diego State; Darnell Wilks, Cincinnati; John Williams, UNC Asheville; and Illinois College's Jacob Tucker.

The five judges for the Denny's Slam Dunk Championship are: Hall of Famer and second-leading scorer in NBA history Karl Malone; Hall of Famer and former Houston Rocket Calvin Murphy; 2008 first-round NBA draft pick and Houston Rocket Courtney Lee; former Kentucky standout, current Houston Rocket and 2005 College Slam Dunk participant Chuck Hayes; and two-time Pro-Bowl participant and former Defensive Rookie of the Year, Houston Texan DeMeco Ryans

The State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships program consists of the Mercedes-Benz Men's 3-Point Shooting Championship, State Farm Women's 3-Point Shooting Championship, Battle of the Champions and the Denny's Slam Dunk Championship.  FRS Healthy Performance, Skechers, TD Ameritrade and U.S. Marines are participating sponsors in the event.

Previous event participants include Gary Payton (Oregon State), Allan Houston (Tennessee), Steve Nash (UC-Santa Clara), Wes Matthews (Marquette), Michael Finley (Wisconsin), Bobby Hurley (Duke), Aaron Brooks (Oregon), Desmond Mason (Oklahoma State), Chuck Hayes (Kentucky), Scoonie Penn (Ohio State), Damon Stoudamire (Arizona), Kyle Korver (Creighton), Sonny Weems (Arkansas),  Bryce Drew (Valparaiso), A.J. Guyton (Indiana), Chris Quinn (Notre Dame), Katie Gearlds (Purdue), Jennifer Jacoby (Purdue), Kelly Mazzante (Penn State) and Cappie Pondexter (Rutgers). 

The ESPN broadcast team includes Dan Dakich, Jimmy Dykes, Brad Nessler and Holly Rowe.  The program will reair numerous times on ESPN networks. 

Tickets for the 2011 College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships are $15 for adults and $10 for students and can be purchased at www.collegeslam.com.  Gates open at 5:30 p.m.  Hofheinz Pavilion is located at 3875 Holman Street, Houston, Texas.
Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
MGOLF Puerto Rico Classic San Juan, Puerto Rico
Feb 24 T11 of 15
Feb 26 Citadel 74
WTRACK Southern Conference Championships Birmingham, Ala.
Feb 27 Results
MTEN Tennessee Tech 0 Bristol, Tenn.
Feb 27 ETSU 7
WTEN ETSU 6 Akron, Ohio
Feb 28 Akron 1
WTRACK Southern Conference Championships Birmingham, Ala.
Feb 28 3 of 9
BB Butler 1 Johnson City, Tenn.
Feb 28 ETSU 4
WBB ETSU 42 Final
Feb 28 University of Tennessee at Chattanooga 64
SB ETSU 10 5
Feb 28 Morehead St. 1
SB ETSU 5 Savannah, Ga.
Feb 28 UMBC 7
Feb 28 Mercer 69
BB Butler 9 Johnson City, Tenn.
Feb 28 ETSU 3
BB Butler 6 Johnson City, Tenn.
Mar 1 ETSU 12
BB Radford 1 Johnson City, Tenn.
Mar 3 ETSU 9
WTEN ETSU 3 Rock Hill, S.C.
Mar 4 Winthrop 4
BB ETSU 6 Asheville, N.C.
Mar 4 UNC-Asheville 8
WBB ETSU 73 Final
Mar 5 vs. No. 7 Western Carolina 53