UCLA edges ETSU in tiebreaker at Callaway Match Play

Tuesday, March 22, 2011

BALL GROUND, Ga. (Mar. 22, 2011)
- After splitting the first four matches of the day, top-seeded UCLA won a tiebreaker in the fifth match to slip past the upset minded on the final day of the Callaway Collegiate Match Play Championship.
The Bucs looked to be in good shape with just one match in progress. Freshman Lucas Armstrong (Church Hill, Tenn.) held an advantage over Alex Kim throughout the day. Armstrong was 2-up with two-holes remaining. Kim, however, rallied to win the final two holes to halve the match and force a tiebreaker. After the two players tied on the first hole of the tiebreaker, Kim outlasted Armstrong on the second playoff hole to clinch the victory for the Bruins.
UCLA jumped out to a quick advantage after Gregor Main and Connor Driscoll each picked up victories. However, ETSU rallied to even the match back up after two victories of its own.
Senior Paul O'Kane (Castledawson, Northern Ireland) defeated Patrick Cantlay, 3 and 2, to earn the first victory of the day for the Bucs. O'Kane never trailed during the match. Later, junior Devin Komline (Dorset, Vermont) defeated Mario Clemens in a tightly contested match, 1-up.
The Bucs finished eighth-place in the prestigious 16-team field. No. 10-seeded Duke won the event by defeating No. 4-seeded Illinois in the finals. No. 11-seeded USC defeated 9th-seeded Texas Tech for third place.
The event was comprised of four rounds of match play between teams, similar to the Final Eight of the NCAA Championship. Each team match included individual matches between each of the five players, and the winner of each individual match scored a point for his team.
Georgia Tech was the host school and was joined by USC, Alabama, Baylor, Duke, East Tennessee State, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Pacific, South Carolina, Texas, Texas A&M, Texas Tech, UCLA and Washington State. Georgia (2005) and UCLA (2007) were past winners of the event while 2010 runner-up USC led a contingent of five teams (Iowa, Texas A&M, Texas Tech, UCLA) returning from last year's tournament.
The Bucs will take some time off from tournament play before returning to action on April 11 when they participate in the Wofford Invitational.

For more information on the ETSU men's golf team please go to ETSUBucs.com and click on the men's golf link. Also, be sure to follow ETSU Athletics on Facebook and Twitter.
Hawks Ridge Golf Club, Ball Ground, Ga.
Final-Round Results
UCLA 2, ETSU 2 (1 match halved - UCLA wins tiebreaker)
Paul O'Kane (ETSU) d. Patrick Cantlay(UCLA), 3 and 2
Gregor Main (UCLA)d. Spencer Lawson (ETSU), 5 and 4
Devin Komline (ETSU) d.Mario Clemens (UCLA), 1 up
Connor Driscoll (UCLA) d. Patrick Spraggs (ETSU), 4 and 2
Alex Kim (UCLA) d. Lucas Armstrong (ETSU), Halved (Kim won tiebreaker on 20th hole)
Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
WBB Mercer University 49 Final
Feb 21 ETSU 70
BB ETSU 2 Spartanburg, S.C.
Feb 21 UNC-Asheville 3
Feb 21 Chattanooga 67
MGOLF Puerto Rico Classic San Juan, Puerto Rico
Feb 22 Results
BB ETSU 10 Spartanburg, S.C.
Feb 22 Pittsburgh 4
BB ETSU 9 Spartanburg, S.C.
Feb 22 USC Upstate 2
MGOLF Puerto Rico Classic San Juan, Puerto Rico
Feb 23 Results
WBB ETSU 46 Final
Feb 23 Samford University 69
MGOLF Puerto Rico Classic San Juan, Puerto Rico
Feb 24 T11 of 15
Feb 26 Citadel 74
WTRACK Southern Conference Championships Birmingham, Ala.
Feb 27 Results
MTEN Tennessee Tech 0 Bristol, Tenn.
Feb 27 ETSU 7
WTEN ETSU 6 Akron, Ohio
Feb 28 Akron 1
WTRACK Southern Conference Championships Birmingham, Ala.
Feb 28
BB Butler 1 Johnson City, Tenn.
Feb 28 ETSU 4
WBB ETSU 42 Final
Feb 28 University of Tennessee at Chattanooga 64
SB ETSU 10 Savannah, Ga.
Feb 28 Morehead St. 1