ETSU volleyball picked seventh in Preseason A-Sun Poll

Thursday, August 19, 2010

MACON, Ga. (August 19, 2010) - Returning five starters and nine letterwinners from a year ago, ETSU has been picked seventh in the Atlantic Sun volleyball preseason coaches' poll, the league announced Thursday.

The selection is the identical position the Bucs finished in the 2009 A-Sun standings, while the team was picked to finish sixth in the preseason poll last year.
After winning the A-Sun regular season and tournament championship last season, Lipscomb was again picked to win both the regular season and tournament championship as they finished with 120 first place votes. Florida Gulf Coast, the host of the A-Sun tournament for the second straight year was picked to finish second with 103 points. The Eagles reached the championship in last year's A-Sun tournament.
Belmont, Jacksonville, Kennesaw State, and Campbell were selected third through sixth, while the Bucs were just a point behind the Camels. Mercer, UNF, USC Upstate, and Stetson round out the poll.
The Preseason Player of the Year award went to Jake Pease of Lipscomb after she earned her second A-Sun tournament MVP honor a year ago. The 2009 and 2010 A-Sun Player of the Year, Alex Kelly of Lipscomb was also a unanimous choice on the preseason all-conference team along with Jelena Simic of Florida Gulf Coast.
Meghan Hinemeyer of Lipscomb, Maggie Johnson of Belmont, Paige Pridgeon of UNF, Emily Werner of Campbell and Holly Youngquist of FGCU were also named to the preseason all-conference team.
ETSU will open up the 2010 season against Georgia at the Deacon Invitational in Winston-Salem, N.C. on August 27. The Bucs will also face Wake Forest and Coastal Carolina in the event.
For more information on the ETSU volleyball team go to and click on the volleyball page.

2010 Volleyball Preseason All-Atlantic Sun Team
Pos. Name (Class) School
OH Meghan Hinemeyer (Sr.)
OH Maggie Johnson (Jr.) Belmont
MB * Alex Kelly (Sr.) Lipscomb
Stefine "Jake" Pease (Sr.)
OH Paige Pridgeon (So.)
OH * Jelena Simic (Sr.) FGCU
OH Emily Werner (Sr.)
L Holly Youngquist (Jr.)
* - Unanimous Selection
Preseason Player of the Year: Stefine "Jake" Pease, S, Lipscomb

2010 Atlantic Sun Volleyball Preseason Poll
Rank School (First Place Votes)
1. Lipscomb (10)
2. FGCU 103
3. Belmont
Jacksonville (1)
5. Kennesaw State
7. ETSU 59
8. Mercer
9. UNF
10. USC Upstate
11. Stetson
Tournament Champion: Lipscomb (Ten Votes)
Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
MCC NCAA South Regional Tallahassee, Fla.
Nov 14 13 of 22
WCC NCAA South Regional Tallahassee, Fla.
Nov 14 23 of 29
VB ETSU 3 Charleston, S.C.
Nov 14 The Citadel 1
WBB ETSU 81 Final
Nov 14 University of North Carolina at Asheville 68
Nov 14 Valparaiso 90
VB ETSU 3 Macon, Ga.
Nov 15 Mercer University 1
WBB High Point University 76 Final
Nov 17 ETSU 84
MBB Virginia-Wise 66 F
Nov 18 ETSU 111
WBB Appalachian State University 76 Final
Nov 19 ETSU 70
WBB ETSU 79 Final
Nov 21 Saint Francis University 63
VB ETSU Greensboro, N.C.
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. No. 5 Western Carolina (SoCon Quarterfinal)
MBB UNC Asheville 87 F
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. ETSU 98
MBB ETSU Rock Hill, S.C.
Nov 24, 7:00 p.m. Winthrop
WBB ETSU Terre Haute, Ind.
Nov 24, 8:00 p.m. Indiana State University
WBB ETSU Bloomington, Ind.
Nov 26, 2:00 p.m. Indiana University
WBB ETSU Blacksburg, Va.
Nov 29, 5:00 p.m. Virginia Tech University
MBB ETSU Morehead, Ky.
Dec 1, 7:00 p.m. Morehead State
WBB ETSU Fairfax, Va.
Dec 3, 5:00 p.m. George Mason University
MBB Western Carolina Freedom Hall
Dec 3, 8:00 p.m. ETSU