Evans edges out Wiles for Atlantic Sun scoring title
Junior Siarre Evans became the fourth player in ETSU history to win a scoring title.
Junior Siarre Evans became the fourth player in ETSU history to win a scoring title.

Monday, March 23, 2009

JOHNSON CITY, Tenn. (March 23, 2009) - A day after the Lady Bucs season came to an end, junior guard Siarre Evans (Griffin, Ga.) learned Monday morning she took home the Atlantic Sun Conference scoring title, marking the first time an ETSU player has claimed the crown since Tiffani Mayes did so in 2005.

It was a close race, but when everything was totaled Evans stayed in front of her teammate TaRonda Wiles (Danville, Va.) to capture the crown. Evans finished the season averaging 16.4 points per game and Wiles closed out the year in second with 16.2 per contest.

Evans became only the fourth player in ETSU history to accomplish the feat, as she joined current Lady Buccaneer assistant DeShawne Blocker, Nicole Hopson and Mayes to win the title. In addition, Evans finished the year averaging a double-double, as she posted 10.3 rebounds per game as well.

Wiles and Evans also joined an elite club after the first round NCAA Tournament loss to Iowa State on Sunday night. The junior duo both scored 500-plus points this season, which is something that has only been done one other time in Lady Buccaneer history. Evans scored 507 points on the year and Wiles netted 501. The first time two ETSU players scored 500 points in one season was when Blocker and 1,000-point scorer Amy Engle started the special club in 1994-95.

Evans and Wiles will be back for their senior season and the scoring combo looks to guide the Lady Bucs to their third straight NCAA Tournament appearance.

For more information on Lady Buccaneer basketball, visit www.ETSUBucs.com.  


Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
SB North Florida 4
Apr 13 ETSU 2
BB University of North Florida 4 Johnson City, Tenn.
Apr 13 ETSU 10
WGOLF Atlantic Sun Conference Championships Jekyll Island, Ga.
Apr 14 1st of 10
SB Furman 7 Johnson City, Tenn.
Apr 16 ETSU 3
SB Furman 0
Apr 16 ETSU 5
BB ETSU 6 Jacksonville, Fla.
Apr 17 Jacksonville University 13
WTRACK War Eagle Invitational Auburn, Ala.
Apr 19 Results
MTRACK War Eagle Invitational Auburn, Ala.
Apr 19 Results
MTEN ETSU 4 Jacksonville, Fla.
Apr 19 Stetson 0
Apr 19 Jacksonville University 3
Apr 19 Jacksonville 3
Apr 19 Jacksonville
Apr 19 Jacksonville University
MGOLF Atlantic Sun Championship Braselton, Ga.
Apr 20 Results
Apr 20 FGCU 1