No. 31st Olivares faces an elite field at the ITA National Indoor Championships

Wednesday, November 05, 2008

(November 5, 2008) - After winning against some of the top players and teams in the nation this fall season, ETSU men's tennis senior Enrique Olivares (Puerto Ordaz, Venezuela) will look to continue that trend once more, as the No. 31st ranked senior captain takes on the majority of top-32 players in the nation at the ITA National Indoor Championships, in Charlottesville, Va.


The four-day event will take place at the Boar's Sports Club, hosted by the University of Virginia. Play will open with first-round singles action Thursday, followed by the quarterfinals, semifinals and finals round each of the following days. Notable players in this year's elite field include nine players that are currently ranked in the ITA top-10, as well as five top-five partipants and last year's NCAA singles runner-up J.P. Smith, who Olivares defeated earlier this fall. 


Olivares becomes just the second ETSU men's tennis player since 1992 to qualify for ITA National Indoors, after he reached the semifinals of the D'Novo/ITA All-American Championships in October.


"Enrique has continued to play outstanding tennis this fall," said head coach Yaser Zaatini. "He has been such an outstanding player for our team throughout this season, but more importantly Enrique has been a player and student-athlete that represent ETSU in such a great manner. He's someone that the school and community can be proud of both on and off the court."


Olivares will take the court at 10 a.m., Thursday, with pairings and draws being released to the public late Wednesday afternoon. Below is the listed participants and their ITA national rankings.


 Live stats and updates will be available for the tournament at or


Men's Singles
Blake Strode - Arkansas (#41)
Matt Hogan - Arkansas (#125)
Denes Lukacs - Baylor (#2)
Clancy Shields - Boise State (#34)
Bogdan Borta - Columbia
Martin Zimmerman - Denver
Enrique Oliveras - East Tennessee State (#31)
Fabio Silva - Fresno Pacific (ITA Small College Singles Champion)
Nate Schnugg - Georgia (#12)
Guillermo Gomez - Georgia Tech (#33)
Chris Clayton - Harvard (#69)
Bruno Agostinelli - Kentucky (#19)
Austen Childs - Louisville (#26)
Michael Venus - LSU (#20)
Daniel Vallverdu - Miami (FL) (#3)
Brett Helgeson - Notre Dame (#25)
Justin Kronauge - Ohio State (#8)
Bryan Koniecko - Ohio State (#9)
Steven Moneke - Ohio State (#11)
Andrei Daescu - Oklahoma (#22)
Oleksandr Nedovyesov - Oklahoma State (#1)
Bassam Beidas - Pepperdine (#15)
Bruno Rosa - Rice (#14)
Robert Farah - USC (#5)
Alex Clayton - Stanford (#4)
John-Patrick Smith - Tennessee (#10)
Conor Pollock - Texas A&M (#17)
Arnau Brugues - Tulsa (#6)
Dominic Inglot - Virginia (#18)
Sanam Singh - Virginia (#82)
Michael Shabaz - Virginia (#104)
Cory Parr - Wake Forest (#24)

Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
MCC NCAA South Regional Tallahassee, Fla.
Nov 14 13 of 22
WCC NCAA South Regional Tallahassee, Fla.
Nov 14 23 of 29
VB ETSU 3 Charleston, S.C.
Nov 14 The Citadel 1
WBB ETSU 81 Final
Nov 14 University of North Carolina at Asheville 68
Nov 14 Valparaiso 90
VB ETSU 3 Macon, Ga.
Nov 15 Mercer University 1
WBB High Point University 76 Final
Nov 17 ETSU 84
MBB Virginia-Wise 66 F
Nov 18 ETSU 111
WBB Appalachian State University 76 Final
Nov 19 ETSU 70
WBB ETSU 79 Final
Nov 21 Saint Francis University 63
VB ETSU Greensboro, N.C.
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. No. 5 Western Carolina (SoCon Quarterfinal)
MBB UNC Asheville 87 F
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. ETSU 98
MBB ETSU Rock Hill, S.C.
Nov 24, 7:00 p.m. Winthrop
WBB ETSU Terre Haute, Ind.
Nov 24, 8:00 p.m. Indiana State University
WBB ETSU Bloomington, Ind.
Nov 26, 2:00 p.m. Indiana University
WBB ETSU Blacksburg, Va.
Nov 29, 5:00 p.m. Virginia Tech University
MBB ETSU Morehead, Ky.
Dec 1, 7:00 p.m. Morehead State
WBB ETSU Fairfax, Va.
Dec 3, 5:00 p.m. George Mason University
MBB Western Carolina Freedom Hall
Dec 3, 8:00 p.m. ETSU