Southern Conference releases annual Academic Honor Roll

Friday, July 23, 2004

JOHNSON CITY, Tenn. (July 23, 2004) - 56 East Tennessee State University student-athletes were named to the 2003-04 Southern Conference Academic Honor Roll, released Thursday from the league offices in Spartanburg, S.C. Southern Conference athletic directors established the honor roll prior to the 1988-89 athletic year as a way to recognize the league's outstanding student-athletes. After 364 earned the honor the first year, the honor roll has increased in 11 of the 14 subsequent years. The academic honor roll consists of student-athletes who participated in varsity sports at member institutions and posted a 3.0 grade point average or higher while passing at least 24 hours in two semesters of classes or its equivalent for other academic calendars. The following Buccaneer student-athletes earned SoCon Academic Honor Roll accolades: Caleb Glafenhein, Baseball Josiah Glafenhein, Baseball Trevor Smith, Baseball Troy Moock, Baseball Sam Oatman, Men's Basketball Carla Akers, Women's Basketball Holly Moring, Women's Basketball Anna Marie Ricciardi, Women's Basketball Lauren Shade, Women's Basketball Brooke Wilhoit, Women's Basketball Jamal Magwood, Football Travis Williams, Football Vanessa Breeding, Women's Golf Kailey Brooks, Women's Golf Laura Diaz, Women's Golf Robin Downes, Women's Golf Kristen Fletcher, Women's Golf Erin Ashton, Women's Soccer Blair DeGraw, Women's Soccer Jennifer Fields, Women's Soccer Trista Haupt, Women's Soccer Lauren Kulish, Women's Soccer Meghan Morris, Women's Soccer Alexandra Schwark, Women's Soccer Julia Chance, Softball Sheryl Clark, Softball Rhea Holler, Softball Fernando Fiuri, Men's Tennis Diego Iglesias, Men's Tennis Federico Ochoa, Men's Tennis Alejandro Salazar, Men's Tennis Moises Serrano, Men's Tennis Jewel Aldea, Women's Tennis Tatiana Arriaran, Women's Tennis Gemma Halim, Women's Tennis Kaylin Chesney, Men's Track and Field Peter Dalton, Men's Track and Field Rhett Ezell, Men's Track and Field Joshua Gibson, Men's Track and Field David Haefner, Men's Track and Field Joshua Hicks, Men's Track and Field Patrick Loven, Men's Track and Field Jeremy Snoderly, Men's Track and Field Brad Yewer, Men's Track and Field Tiffany Collier, Women's Track and Field Jennifer Habbestad, Women's Track and Field Cheryl Mchone, Women's Track and Field Natasha Peyton, Women's Track and Field Kimberly Simmons, Women's Track and Field Caitlin St. Louis, Women's Track and Field Kristin Truman, Women's Track and Field Christine Ward, Women's Track and Field Jennifer Whittington, Women's Track and Field Lissa Allen, Volleyball Kristi Robinson, Volleyball Kate Steidle, Volleyball The full Southern Conference Academic Honor Roll list can be found at
Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
WBB High Point University 76 Final
Nov 17 ETSU 84
MBB Virginia-Wise 66 F
Nov 18 ETSU 111
WBB Appalachian State University 76 Final
Nov 19 ETSU 70
WBB ETSU 79 Final
Nov 21 Saint Francis University 63
VB ETSU Greensboro, N.C.
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. No. 5 Western Carolina (SoCon Quarterfinal)
MBB UNC Asheville 87 F
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. ETSU 98
Nov 24, 12:00 p.m. Winthrop 64
WBB ETSU 69 Final
Nov 24, 12:00 p.m. Indiana State University 76
WBB ETSU Bloomington, Ind.
Nov 26, 2:00 p.m. Indiana University
WBB ETSU Blacksburg, Va.
Nov 29, 5:00 p.m. Virginia Tech University
MBB ETSU Morehead, Ky.
Dec 1, 7:00 p.m. Morehead State
WBB ETSU Fairfax, Va.
Dec 3, 5:00 p.m. George Mason University
MBB Western Carolina Freedom Hall
Dec 3, 8:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Huntsville, Ala.
Dec 6, 6:00 p.m. Alabama A&M University
MBB UNC Greensboro Freedom Hall
Dec 13, 4:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB Eastern Kentucky University Johnson City, Tenn.
Dec 13, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Morehead, Ky.
Dec 15, 12:00 p.m. Morehead State University
MBB ETSU Richmond, Ky.
Dec 16, 7:00 p.m. Eastern Kentucky