ETSU men dominate SoCon coaches honors; Wadood, Bartow earn top awards

Monday, March 01, 2004

Head Shot
Zakee Wadood was named the SoCon Player of the Year on Monday.
JOHNSON CITY, Tenn. (March 1, 2004) - When it comes to postseason honors, it was a good day for the East Tennessee State University men's basketball team.

The Southern Conference men's basketball coaches on Monday named ETSU senior forward Zakee Wadood (Lonoke, Ark.) as the 2003-04 Player of the Year, while head coach Murry Bartow became only the third coach in league history to earn Coach of the Year honors in his first season. In addition, ETSU sophomore Tim Smith (Newport News, Va.) and senior Jerald Fields (Gainesville, Fla.) were also named to the coaches' All-SoCon team, giving the Bucs a league-best three selections on the 10-player team. In fact, Smith was the runner-up behind Wadood for player of the year.

"I think all three of those guys are deserving and I'm happy for all of them," Bartow said. "It's been a fun and exciting season for our entire coaching staff, and this is just a great group of guys. They're fun to coach."

Wadood has helped lead East Tennessee State to a 24-5 overall record, its fourth-straight SoCon North Division title, and the overall SoCon regular season championship. The 6-6, 210-pound senior is averaging 14.8 points per game and is leading the SoCon with 7.8 rebounds and 2.83 steals per game. Wadood is the fourth ETSU player to be so honored and the first since Dimeco Childress in 2001-02. Head Shot

"It's great to be honored like this," said Wadood, who is currently No. 7 on the ETSU all-time scoring list with 1,324 points. "After all the hard work we've put in as a team, it's nice. But we've got a great team, and this award is as much for them as it is for me."

Bartow, in his first year as the head coach at East Tennessee State, earned Coach of the Year honors after guiding the Bucs to a program-record 15-1 league mark and a program-best 16-game winning streak from Jan. 4 until Feb. 28. The Bucs will be the No. 1 seed out of the SoCon North Division in the Southern Conference Basketball Championship, which begins on Wednesday at the North Charleston (SC) Coliseum.

Meanwhile, Smith and Fields were first-time selections to the coaches' All-SoCon team. Smith currently leads the Bucs with 16.5 ppg and 4.4 apg, while Fields is second on the team with 6.4 rpg and third with 13.2 ppg.

"It feels good to finally make it," said Fields, who is just behind Wadood on the career scoring list at No. 8 with 1,294 points. "To tell you the truth, though, the season's not complete yet. I'll tell you how I really feel about it after the tournament." Head Shot

The Buccaneers will open play at the SoCon Tournament Thursday at noon when they face the winner of Wednesday's first-round game between Furman and Western Carolina.

All-Southern Conference Men's Basketball Team
Zakee Wadood, East Tennessee State
Tim Smith, East Tennessee State
Thomas Mobley, College of Charleston
Kevin Martin, Western Carolina
Brendan Winters, Davidson
Ashley Champion, Chattanooga
Maleye Ndoye, Furman
Frank Bennett, Georgia Southern
Jerald Fields, East Tennessee State
Terry Williams, Georgia Southern
Head Shot

Southern Conference All-Freshman Team
Quan Prowell, Furman
Matt Nowlin, Elon
Robby Bostain, Furman
Moussa Diagne, Furman
J'mel Everhart, The Citadel

Southern Conference Coach of the Year
East Tennessee State head coach Murry Bartow
was named the Coach of the Year by the Southern
Conference coaches. He is the third first-year
head coach to win the award and the first since
VMI's Bart Bellairs in 1994-95. Dana Altman of
Marshall in 1989-90 was also a first-year head coach.

Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
Sep 21 USC Upstate Fall Classic
WGOLF Lady Paladin Invitational Greenville, S.C.
Sep 21 11th of 18
Sep 21 UVa Ranked Plus One Invitational
SB Virginia Tech Johnson City, Tenn.
Sep 21, 12:00 p.m. ETSU
SB Virginia Tech Johnson City, Tenn.
Sep 21, 2:00 p.m. ETSU
WSOC Tennessee 3 F
Sep 21, 2:00 p.m. ETSU 0
MGOLF Inverness Intercollegiate Invitational Toledo, Ohio
Sep 22 Results
MGOLF Inverness Intercollegiate Invitational Toledo, Ohio
Sep 23 1st of 12
Sep 23 Winthrop 4
VB Furman University 3 Johnson City, Tenn.
Sep 23 ETSU 0
MCC Spartan Invitational Kernersville, N.C.
Sep 26 1 of 6
WCC Spartan Invitational Kernersville, N.C.
Sep 26 1 of 6
WSOC Furman 3 F
Sep 26 ETSU 0
FB ETSU Johnson City, Tenn.
Sep 27 Game Time 101 Event (First official scrimmage)
VB ETSU 3 Chattanooga, Tenn.
Sep 27 University of Tennessee at Chattanooga 1
MGOLF Jack Nicklaus Invitational Columbus, Ohio
Sep 28 Results
WSOC Wofford 0 F
Sep 28 ETSU 3
MGOLF Jack Nicklaus Invitational Columbus, Ohio
Sep 29 5th of 12