Four Bucs garner All-Southern Conference recognition in softball
Janine Sprague's outstanding freshman season has landed her a spot on this year's All-Southern Conference first-team.
Janine Sprague's outstanding freshman season has landed her a spot on this year's All-Southern Conference first-team.

Thursday, May 08, 2003

Spartanburg, S.C. (May 8, 2003) -- Four members of the East Tennessee State softball team were named All-Southern Conference at the league's annual Softball banquet Wednesday night. Freshman Outfielder Janine Sprague (Hillsborough, N.C.) garnered first-team recognition. Heading into this weekend's conference tournament, Sprague was leading ETSU in batting average (.338), runs (30), walks (19), and broke the single-season record for hits (49). Earning second-team accolades were junior pitcher Tiffany McVay (Soddy-Daisy, Tenn.), freshman catcher Jessica Lonsinger (Dale City, Va.), and sophomore outfielder Danielle Spetar (Knoxville, Tenn.) McVay currently has a 2.29 ERA with 11 wins and four saves, and she is one of the league's leaders in innings pitched (149.2). Lonsinger is hitting .287 with 37 hits and six doubles, while carrying a .994 fielding percentage. Spetar's 18 stolen bases this season is a school record and she has only been caught stealing twice. She is batting a .299 clip with eight doubles. Four members marks the most ETSU has had representing the all-league balloting in its three-year history of the softball program. The Buccaneers, led by first-year head coach Amy Fuller, have an overall record of 24-24 and are the fifth seed in the SoCon Tournament. 2003 All-Conference Teams First Team P: Rachel Stern, Coll. of Charleston P: Amber Watson, UNC Greensboro C: Jennifer Reed, Chattanooga 1B: Meagen Johnson, Furman 2B: Brooke Flowers, Coll. of Charleston 3B: Jessica Shwartzkopf, Coll. of Charleston SS: Jennifer Hubbard, UNC Greensboro OF: Amanda Cone, Coll. of Charleston OF: Janine Sprague, East Tennessee State OF: LaKerah Barr, Furman Second Team P: Awbrey Winckler, Chattanooga P: Tiffany McVay, East Tennessee State C: Jessica Lonsinger, East Tennesee State 1B: Lael Rorie, Appalachian State 2B: Jennifer Aguilar, UNC Greensboro 3B: Melissa Ramirez, Chattanooga SS: Jacquie Rothey, Coll. of Charleston OF: Keyta Lawson, Coll. of Charleston OF: Danielle Spetar, East Tennessee State OF: Tiffany Lindemann, UNC Wilmington DP: Melissa Creeger, Coll. of Charleston Freshman of the Year: Jennifer Reed, Chattanooga Player of the Year: Jennifer Hubbard, UNC Greensboro Pitcher of the Year: Rachel Stern, Coll. of Charleston Coach of the Year: Chandelle Schulte, Coll. of Charleston
Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
MBB UNC Greensboro 80 F
Dec 13 ETSU 79
WBB Eastern Kentucky University 49 Final
Dec 13 ETSU 64
WBB ETSU 86 Final
Dec 15 Morehead State University 77
Dec 16 Eastern Kentucky 60
WBB ETSU 48 Final
Dec 19 University of North Carolina Wilmington 61
WBB ETSU Wilmington, N.C.
Dec 20, 12:00 p.m. Jacksonville State University
MBB ETSU Richmond, Va.
Dec 22, 7:00 p.m. VCU
WBB Iona College Johnson City, Tenn.
Dec 29, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
MBB ETSU Knoxville, Tenn.
Dec 31, 1:00 p.m. Tennessee
WBB ETSU Chapel Hill, N.C.
Jan 2, 2:00 p.m. University of North Carolina
MBB VMI Freedom Hall
Jan 2, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
MBB ETSU Birmingham, Ala.
Jan 5, 8:00 p.m. Samford
MBB Mercer Freedom Hall
Jan 8, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Greenville, S.C.
Jan 10, 2:00 p.m. Furman University
MBB Chattanooga Freedom Hall
Jan 10, 4:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Spartanburg, S.C.
Jan 12, 11:30 a.m. Wofford College