ETSU's Smith, Wadood honored by SoCon media
ETSU guard Tim Smith was selected the SoCon's freshman of the year by the league's coaches and media.
ETSU guard Tim Smith was selected the SoCon's freshman of the year by the league's coaches and media.

Monday, March 03, 2003

JOHNSON CITY, Tenn. (March 4, 2003) - The honors keep coming for East Tennessee State men's basketball players Tim Smith (Newport News, Va.) and Zakee Wadood (Lonoke, Va.). Smith, who was voted the Southern Conference Freshman of the Year by the league's sports information directors on Sunday, received the same honor from the league's media on Monday. The 5-foot-9 guard is the league's leading freshman scorer, picking up an average of 14.4 points a contest. He currently ranks third in scoring for the Bucs, and is 18th in the nation with 2.5 steals per contest. The last Buccaneer to be named freshman of the year was ETSU great Greg Dennis in 1987-88. Meanwhile, Wadood, who was honored as an All-SoCon selection by the league's coaches, was picked as a second-team player in the media voting. The 6-foot-5 forward is currently second on the team with 14.5 points per game and leads the Bucs with 7.6 rebounds a contest. He is also third in the nation with 3.2 steals a game and leads ETSU with 2.2 blocks per contest. ETSU, which is 17-10 overall, 11-5 in SoCon action, returns to play Thursday in the quarterfinals of the Southern Conference Tournament at the North Charleston Coliseum in Charleston, S.C. At approximately 2:30 p.m. on Thursday, the No. 2-seeded Bucs will face the winner of the Wofford-UNC Greensboro game scheduled for Wednesday. 2003 Southern Conference Media All-SoCon Team Player of the year - Troy Wheless, College of Charleston Freshman of the year - Tim Smith, ETSU Coach of the year - Houston Fancher First team Troy Wheless, College of Charleston Karim Souchu, Furman Julius Jenkins, Georgia Southern Kevin Martin, Western Carolina Shawn Hall, Appalachian State Second team Zakee Wadood, East Tennessee State Ashley Champion, Chattanooga Wayne Bernard, Davidson Radee Skipworth, VMI Mike Lenzly, Wofford Third team Graham Bunn, Appalachian State Thomas Mobley, College of Charleston Guilherme Da Luz, Furman James Maye, UNC Greensboro Lee Nixon, Wofford
Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
WSOC ETSU 2 Spartanburg, S.C.
Aug 21 USC Upstate 0
MSOC Virginia Tech (Ex) 1 Johnson City, Tenn.
Aug 22 ETSU 2
WSOC ETSU 3 Radford, Va.
Aug 24 Radford 1
VB ETSU 0 Blacksburg, Va.
Aug 28 Virginia Tech 3
WSOC Tennessee Tech 0 Johnson City, Tenn.
Aug 28 ETSU 1
MSOC ETSU 1 Clemson, SC
Aug 28 Clemson University 3
VB ETSU 0 Radford, Va.
Aug 29 Washington St. 3
VB ETSU 3 Radford, Va.
Aug 29 LIU Brooklyn 1
WSOC NC State 2 Johnson City, Tenn.
Aug 30 ETSU 0
MSOC High Point University Johnson City, Tenn.
Sep 1, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
WSOC Eastern Kentucky Johnson City, Tenn.
Sep 2, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
FB Kennesaw State Home
Sep 3, 7:30 p.m. ETSU
VB ETSU Troy, Ala.
Sep 4, 4:00 p.m. Alabama St.
VB ETSU Troy, Ala.
Sep 5, 10:30 a.m. CSU Bakersfield
VB ETSU Troy, Ala.
Sep 5, 3:30 p.m. Troy
Sep 5, 7:00 p.m. Radford University
WSOC Navy Johnson City, Tenn.
Sep 6, 1:00 p.m. ETSU
Sep 9, 7:00 p.m. Appalachian State University