ETSU men honored as top program in Atlantic Sun Conference, bring home Jesse C. Fletcher Trophy
Men's track and field captured the A-Sun indoor title.
Men's track and field captured the A-Sun indoor title.

Tuesday, May 30, 2006

            MACON, Ga. (May 30, 2006) - Bolstered by a strong finish in the regular season baseball standings, the ETSU men's athletic program has captured the Atlantic Sun Conference's 2005-06 Jesse C. Fletcher Trophy, which is awarded annually to the conference's top men's program.


            The Fletcher Trophy is awarded based on a points system that takes into account only regular season finishes. The Buccaneers ended the 2005-06 competitive season with a total of 147 points, followed by Belmont with 138 and Campbell at 136.5. ETSU actually trailed Belmont by three points prior to the end of baseball season, but overcame that deficit thanks to the Bucs' fifth-place finish in the regular season race on the diamond.


            "Winning the Fletcher Trophy is an indication that the improvements we've made to our department over the last two or three years are resulting in a successful, broad-based athletic program," said ETSU Director of Intercollegiate Athletics Dave Mullins. "One of our goals is to put all our teams in position to compete for championships, and this conference honor is an indication that we are moving in that direction. We are extremely proud of the student-athletes and coaches that make up our men's program."


The ETSU men captured the maximum number of points for indoor track and field thanks to a championship in that sport, while also picking up 30 points for cross country, 24 points for golf, 21 points for basketball, and 19.5 points for men's tennis and baseball, and 15 points for outdoor track and field.


            While the men placed first, the ETSU women's program put together a solid fourth-place showing in the race for the Shermann Day Trophy. Florida Atlantic dominated that competition in its final season in the A-Sun, picking up a total of 219 points compared to second-place Campbell's 180. Jacksonville was third with 162 points, followed by ETSU at 153.


            Both trophies will be awarded at the A-Sun Spring Meetings, scheduled for June 5-8 in Daytona Beach, Fla.