East Tennessee State Well Represented on Preseason All-Southern Conference Football Team

Tuesday, July 30, 2002

Johnson City, Tenn. (July 30, 2002) Six East Tennessee State football players were named to the preseason All-Southern Conference team, announced Tuesday from the annual conference football rouser in Greenville, S.C. Senior wide receiver Cecil Moore (Morristown, Tenn.) and junior defensive back Tony Tiller (Lithonia, Ga.) were selected to the first team while senior linebacker Marco Bryant (Morganton, N.C.), junior defensive lineman Brandon Calton (Pennington Gap, Va.), junior defensive back Montreal Harkley (Hanahan, S.C.) and sophomore defensive back Gerald Sensabaugh (Kingsport, Tenn.) were second team members. Moore is an All-America candidate who led the SoCon with 57 receptions and 908 receiving yards. He also had five touchdown receptions in 2001. He is a game-breaking wideout and is also a dangerous punt returner for the Bucs. Tiller had a breakout season in 2001, leading the Southern Conference with seven interceptions in just his first season at the position. Also an All-America candidate, the converted wide receiver tallied 55 tackles in 10 games last year. Bryant is a quick, powerful linebacker that had 49 tackles and five for losses in six games during the 2001 season. Calton established himself as one of the top defensive linemen in the SoCon, having tallied 46 tackles, six for losses and four sacks in 11 games last year. Harkley is a tall, athletic safety that came up with 54 tackles, five for losses, a sack and five pass breakups in 2001. Sensabaugh joined Harkley and Tiller in ETSU's defensive backfield as a true freshman last season and became an impact player, notching 53 tackles, four for losses, three sacks and two interceptions. ETSU is coming off a season where it finished 6-5 (4-4 SoCon), fifth in the Southern Conference standings. The team returns all 11 starters from an imposing defense that ranked among the top-30 in the nation in 2001. The Buccaneers open the 2002 season on Aug. 31 at 7 p.m. as they travel to Raleigh, N.C. to face North Carolina State.