Niswonger Foundation Track and Field Invitational set to begin

Wednesday, January 21, 2004

JOHNSON CITY, Tenn. (January 21, 2004) - East Tennessee State University head track and field coach David E. Walker and staff are in the final preparations for the Niswonger Foundation Track and Field Invitational, that will be held in ETSU's Memorial Center Jan. 23rd and 24th. This year's meet will be the second year that the Niswonger Foundation will be sponsoring the meet and the 26th meet overall. The meet will showcase some of the world's top collegiate, post collegiate, and professional athletes. 41 men's and women's teams have entered this year's competition. Included in these teams are host team ETSU, Appalachian State the defending SoCon indoor and outdoor champions, ACC powerhouse UNC Chapel Hill, and SEC member Alabama will bring a contingent of athletes to participate in the event. This year's meet features the following five elite invitational events: men's 3000-meter, women's and men's 60-meter dash, and women's and men's 60-meter hurdles. The invitational men's 3000-meter race is set for Friday evening at 8:20 p.m., while the remaining four elite events are scheduled for the second day of competition. The elite field for these events includes Alan Webb sponsored by Nike broke Jim Ryun's prep mile record with a time of 3:53.43 while in high school, making him the first American high school miler ever to run under four minutes indoor, Yolanda McCray a U.S. hurdler sponsored by Holyfield Track Club, Ian Connor a U.S. distance runner sponsored by Nike with a personal best mile of 3:58.24, Karl Savage a U.S. distance runner for Zap Fitness with a personal best of 13:48.61 in the 5000m, Tom Parlapiano a U.S. distance runner from Villanova with a personal best of 3:42.69 in the 1500m, Karl Jennings a Canadian sprinter, Andrew Reyes a sprinter from Liberia, and Evan Hawkins an ETSU alumni. Additionally, the elite field will showcase six French Olympic athletes. Linda Ferga-Khodadid, one of three female hurdlers from France, placed seventh in Sydney and seventh in Edmonton and won the European Indoor Champion title in the 60-meter hurdles in 2000 and 2002. Ferga-Khodadid's personal best times are 7.88 for the 60-meter hurdles and 12.67 for the 100-meter hurdles. Fanny Gerance and Reina-Flor Okori are the other two female hurdlers and have personal bests of 8.15 and 8.20 respectively. Ladji Doucoure and Philipe Lamine are also premier French hurdlers with personal bests of 7.58 and 7.62 in the 60-meter hurdles respectively. The final French athlete is sprinter Yves Ndavian. His personal best in the 200 meters is 21.10. Tickets for the meet are available by calling the ETSU Ticket Office at (423) 439-5371. The ticket price is $10 for adults and $4 for students that will get you in for both days of competition. The meet begins Friday at noon and the final event of the evening is set to begin at 9:00 p.m. Saturday's events begin at 8:00 a.m. and run all day. A detailed scheduled, list of entrants, and results from the meet will be posted on
Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
WBB High Point University 76 Final
Nov 17 ETSU 84
MBB Virginia-Wise 66 F
Nov 18 ETSU 111
WBB Appalachian State University 76 Final
Nov 19 ETSU 70
WBB ETSU 79 Final
Nov 21 Saint Francis University 63
VB ETSU Greensboro, N.C.
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. No. 5 Western Carolina (SoCon Quarterfinal)
MBB UNC Asheville 87 F
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. ETSU 98
Nov 24, 12:00 p.m. Winthrop 64
WBB ETSU 69 Final
Nov 24, 12:00 p.m. Indiana State University 76
WBB ETSU Bloomington, Ind.
Nov 26, 2:00 p.m. Indiana University
WBB ETSU Blacksburg, Va.
Nov 29, 5:00 p.m. Virginia Tech University
MBB ETSU Morehead, Ky.
Dec 1, 7:00 p.m. Morehead State
WBB ETSU Fairfax, Va.
Dec 3, 5:00 p.m. George Mason University
MBB Western Carolina Freedom Hall
Dec 3, 8:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Huntsville, Ala.
Dec 6, 6:00 p.m. Alabama A&M University
MBB UNC Greensboro Freedom Hall
Dec 13, 4:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB Eastern Kentucky University Johnson City, Tenn.
Dec 13, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Morehead, Ky.
Dec 15, 12:00 p.m. Morehead State University
MBB ETSU Richmond, Ky.
Dec 16, 7:00 p.m. Eastern Kentucky