Former AD Mullins honored with tennis complex dedication
Dave Mullins is joined by his former players during Saturday's dedication ceremony.
Dave Mullins is joined by his former players during Saturday's dedication ceremony.

Saturday, August 31, 2013

JOHNSON CITY, Tenn. (Aug. 31, 2013) – Longtime Buccaneer athletic director and tennis coach, Dave Mullins, was honored on Saturday as ETSU dedicated its varsity tennis complex in his name.

In a dedication ceremony attended by past and present notable ETSU figures, as well as friends, former players and coaches, the Buccaneers’ tennis complex was officially renamed the Buddy Hartsell Courts at the Dave Mullins Tennis Complex.

Mullins coached men’s and women’s tennis at ETSU from 1987-2002, winning a combined 10 Southern Conference regular season and tournament titles and leading the Buccaneers to two NCAA Tournament trips (1992 and 2002).

“This is a very special honor and a wonderful way to end my coaching and administrative career,” Mullins said. “I have enjoyed my 26 years at ETSU, my relationships with coaches, administrators, and faculty, and being a part of the many successes of my tennis players and all of our student-athletes.”

Following his coaching career, Mullins served as athletic director at ETSU from 2002-13, becoming the longest-tenured athletic director in ETSU’s NCAA Division-I program history. During Mullins’ tenure as athletic director, the Buccaneers won a combined 55 conference titles, a program record for a 10-year timeframe.

Mullins oversaw the completion of five new athletic facilities during his time as athletic director, including the Warren-Green Golf Center, Basler Field (softball), Summers-Taylor Stadium (soccer), Thomas Stadium (baseball), and the ETSU Tennis Center.

Impressively, during Mullins’ tenure, zero athletic programs were placed on probation by the NCAA, while the average graduation rate of ETSU student-athletes, 78%, ranked considerably higher than that of the general ETSU student body.

Mullins was inducted into the Tennessee Tennis Hall of Fame in 2005 and, in 2010, was named one of the Under Armour National Athletic Directors of the Year by the National Association of Collegiate Athletic Directors of Athletics.

In January 2013, Mullins was succeeded as ETSU athletic director by Sander.

“I appreciate Dr. Noland making this recognition possible and wish him and Dr. Sander the best as they work toward the future of ETSU athletics,” Mullins said.

Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
MBB Virginia-Wise 66 F
Nov 18 ETSU 111
WBB Appalachian State University 76 Final
Nov 19 ETSU 70
WBB ETSU 79 Final
Nov 21 Saint Francis University 63
VB ETSU Greensboro, N.C.
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. No. 5 Western Carolina (SoCon Quarterfinal)
MBB UNC Asheville 87 F
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. ETSU 98
Nov 24, 12:00 p.m. Winthrop 64
WBB ETSU 69 Final
Nov 24, 12:00 p.m. Indiana State University 76
WBB ETSU 69 Final
Nov 26, 12:00 p.m. Indiana University 97
WBB ETSU Blacksburg, Va.
Nov 29, 5:00 p.m. Virginia Tech University
MBB ETSU Morehead, Ky.
Dec 1, 7:00 p.m. Morehead State
WBB ETSU Fairfax, Va.
Dec 3, 5:00 p.m. George Mason University
MBB Western Carolina Freedom Hall
Dec 3, 8:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Huntsville, Ala.
Dec 6, 6:00 p.m. Alabama A&M University
MBB UNC Greensboro Freedom Hall
Dec 13, 4:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB Eastern Kentucky University Johnson City, Tenn.
Dec 13, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Morehead, Ky.
Dec 15, 12:00 p.m. Morehead State University
MBB ETSU Richmond, Ky.
Dec 16, 7:00 p.m. Eastern Kentucky
WBB ETSU Wilmington, N.C.
Dec 19, 11:30 a.m. University of North Carolina Wilmington