Bottoni becomes third Buc in history to earn a spot in the NCAA Singles Championship
Junior Charles Bottoni became just the third player in ETSU history to earn a spot in the NCAA Singles Championship.
Junior Charles Bottoni became just the third player in ETSU history to earn a spot in the NCAA Singles Championship.

Thursday, May 06, 2010

JOHNSON CITY, Tenn. (May 6, 2010) - Just a day after ETSU men's tennis junior Charles Bottoni (Bois Guillaume, France) learned where he and his teammates would play in the 2010 NCAA team tournament, the Buc upperclassman was announced as a surprising automatic qualifier into the 2010 NCAA Men's Singles Championship field.


This marks the third straight season an ETSU individual player earned a spot among the nation's elite, after former two-time Atlantic Sun Conference Player of the Year Enrique Olivares competed in the past two fields.


The only other ETSU competitor to earn the honor besides Bottoni and Olivares is current head coach and former great Yaser Zaatini who qualified three straight seasons from 1991-1993.


This spring the Bois Guillaume, France native helped guide the 65th-ranked Bucs to its fourth straight A-Sun Championship, while -- despite playing between the No. 3 and No. 4 singles positions -- Bottoni ended the spring as the highest ranked player in the league at No. 104.


Overall, the second-year star has played some of his strongest tennis after coming back from an injury at the beginning of March. Since resting Bottoni has won seven out of his last eight matches, while dating back to the fall season, he sits with a 14-9 overall record in singles play.


Heading into the tournament Bottoni has beat players from four ranked teams, in addition to topping at-large NCAA Singles selection No. 26 Steve Forman of Wake Forest.


History of ETSU players in the NCAA Singles Championships

Yaser Zaatini- 1991             (1st-Round L, Conny Falk of Miami 6-4, 6-3)


Yaser Zaatini- 1992             (1st-Round W, Robert Janeck of UCLA 6-4, 6-4)

                                                (2nd-Round L. Charles Auffray of Pepperdine 6-2, 6-2)


Yaser Zaatini- 1993             (1st-Round  W, Chris Haddad of Arizona State 6-3, 6-2)

                                                (2nd-Round W. Brandon Coupe of Stanford 2-6, 7-6, 6-2)

                                                (Round of 16 L, Brain MacPhie of Southern Cal 6-2, 6-3)


Enrique Olivares- 2008       (1st-Round W,. Alexandru Cojanu of W&M 7-5, 6-1)

                                                (2nd-Round W, Ruben Gonzales of Illinois 6-4, 4-6, 6-4)

                                                (Round of 16 L, J.P. Smith of Tennessee 6-2, 6-2)


Enrique Olivares- 2009       (1st-Round W, Martin Sayer of Radford 7-5, 6-4)

                                                (2nd-Round L, Steven Moneke of Ohio State 6-3, 6-3)


Charles Bottoni- 2010                        


For more information on the ETSU men's tennis team and its players please visit

Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
MBB UNC Greensboro 80 F
Dec 13 ETSU 79
WBB Eastern Kentucky University 49 Final
Dec 13 ETSU 64
WBB ETSU 86 Final
Dec 15 Morehead State University 77
Dec 16 Eastern Kentucky 60
WBB ETSU Wilmington, N.C.
Dec 19, 11:30 a.m. University of North Carolina Wilmington
WBB ETSU Wilmington, N.C.
Dec 20, 12:00 p.m. Jacksonville State University
MBB ETSU Richmond, Va.
Dec 22, 7:00 p.m. VCU
WBB Iona College Johnson City, Tenn.
Dec 29, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
MBB ETSU Knoxville, Tenn.
Dec 31, 1:00 p.m. Tennessee
WBB ETSU Chapel Hill, N.C.
Jan 2, 2:00 p.m. University of North Carolina
MBB VMI Freedom Hall
Jan 2, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
MBB ETSU Birmingham, Ala.
Jan 5, 8:00 p.m. Samford
MBB Mercer Freedom Hall
Jan 8, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Greenville, S.C.
Jan 10, 2:00 p.m. Furman University
MBB Chattanooga Freedom Hall
Jan 10, 4:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Spartanburg, S.C.
Jan 12, 11:30 a.m. Wofford College