ETSU lands three players on NSCAA All-South Region teams
Coulter (third from right), Fubara (fourth from right), and Geno (right) earned spots on the NSCAA All-South Region teams.
Coulter (third from right), Fubara (fourth from right), and Geno (right) earned spots on the NSCAA All-South Region teams.

Wednesday, December 11, 2013

Coulter, Fubara, and Geno earn regional recognition

KANSAS CITY, Kan. (Dec. 11, 2013) – Following one of the most successful seasons in ETSU Men’s Soccer history, seniors Ryan Coulter (Dublin, Ireland) and Itode Fubara (Ogbema, Nigeria) were named to the NSCAA/Continental Tire All-South Region First Team, while fellow senior David Geno (Kingsport, Tenn.) earned a spot on the All-Region Second Team. This year marks the fourth consecutive season ETSU has seen at least one player receive regional recognition.

This season, Coulter, Fubara, and Geno helped the Bucs clinch the program’s second NCAA Tournament berth in four years by winning the Atlantic Sun Tournament Championship.


Coulter, ETSU’s all-time leader for wins (30), shutouts (25), and saves (179), was named Atlantic Sun Goalkeeper of the Year for the second consecutive season. Earning 10 shutouts on the year, the senior co-captain became the A-Sun’s all-time leader for career shutouts, breaking a record that previously stood for nearly two decades.

Fubara, who ranks among the Top 5 in program history for career goals (8), assists (13), and minutes played (6,525), joined Geno in becoming the first ETSU players to be named to the Atlantic Sun All-First Team three times. The Ogbema, Nigeria, native became the first ever ETSU student-athlete to be named a finalist for the prestigious Senior CLASS Award, for which a winner will be announced during next week’s NCAA College Cup finals.


Geno, ETSU’s all-time leader for goals (26), assists (19), and points (71), has earned a spot on the All-South Region First Team the past two seasons. The senior co-captain tied Emmanuel Wilson as the team’s leading point-scorer this season, scoring 10 points in 16 games (three goals, four assists).

ETSU All-Region Recipients

2013 – Ryan Coulter, Itode Fubara (First Team); David Geno (Second Team)

2012 – David Geno (First Team); Itode Fubara (Second Team); Alesi Osorio (Third Team)

2011 – Aaron Schoenfeld (First Team)

2010 – Guilherme Reis, Aaron Schoenfeld (Second Team)

Coulter, Fubara, and Geno will graduate as members of ETSU’s all-time winningest class. The outgoing Class of 2013 helped the Bucs compile a record of 45-25-12 over the past four seasons.

View the full All-South Region teams here.


  • Receive live game updates and behind-the-scenes access of ETSU Men’s Soccer by following @ETSUMSoccer on Twitter.
  • ETSU fans wanting to receive Buccaneer news, score updates, in-game promotions and much more sent to their mobile device can do so by signing up for “Buc Updates.” Click here to sign up today!
  • For more information on Buccaneer athletics, visit
Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
WSOC ETSU 2 Spartanburg, S.C.
Aug 21 USC Upstate 0
MSOC Virginia Tech (Ex) 1 Johnson City, Tenn.
Aug 22 ETSU 2
WSOC ETSU 3 Radford, Va.
Aug 24 Radford 1
VB ETSU 0 Blacksburg, Va.
Aug 28 Virginia Tech 3
WSOC Tennessee Tech 0 Johnson City, Tenn.
Aug 28 ETSU 1
MSOC ETSU 1 Clemson, SC
Aug 28 Clemson University 3
VB ETSU 0 Radford, Va.
Aug 29 Washington St. 3
VB ETSU 3 Radford, Va.
Aug 29 LIU Brooklyn 1
WSOC NC State 2 Johnson City, Tenn.
Aug 30 ETSU 0
MSOC High Point University Johnson City, Tenn.
Sep 1, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
WSOC Eastern Kentucky Johnson City, Tenn.
Sep 2, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
FB Kennesaw State Home
Sep 3, 7:30 p.m. ETSU
VB ETSU Troy, Ala.
Sep 4, 4:00 p.m. Alabama St.
VB ETSU Troy, Ala.
Sep 5, 10:30 a.m. CSU Bakersfield
VB ETSU Troy, Ala.
Sep 5, 3:30 p.m. Troy
Sep 5, 7:00 p.m. Radford University
WSOC Navy Johnson City, Tenn.
Sep 6, 1:00 p.m. ETSU
Sep 9, 7:00 p.m. Appalachian State University