ETSU men headed to Yale for regionals
Senior Seamus Power was the 2010 Atlantic Sun Conference individual champion.
Senior Seamus Power was the 2010 Atlantic Sun Conference individual champion.

Monday, May 10, 2010


Buccaneers hope to earn 17th trip to NCAA finals with strong showing


JOHNSON CITY, Tenn. (May 10, 2010) - The ETSU men's golf team has its assignment and will attempt to return to the NCAA Championships during regional action May 20-22 at The Course at Yale in New Haven, Conn. This will be the 22nd time the Buccaneers have competed in NCAA postseason play.


During a national teleconference Monday afternoon, the 30th-ranked Bucs learned of their next destination and the path that will hopefully lead them back to the NCAA Championships for the 17th time. Making this season even more interesting, a trip to the finals would mean ETSU will return to The Honors Course in Chattanooga, where they finished a program-best third in the 1996 national championships.


A total of 14 teams will be competing in each of the six regional fields, with the top five teams advancing to the finals. The top individual player not to be a member of one of the top five teams will also earn a spot in the championships.


"Given my choice I would have liked going to Yale, because we've played there before  and we are a familiar with it," said ETSU head coach Fred Warren, whose team won the 2010 Atlantic Sun Conference championship last month. "It's a difficult course, but at this point no matter where you are it's a matter of playing well. The top five go so that's our goal."


Live scoring from the NCAA regionals will be available on, and will provide complete coverage following each day's action. For more on ETSU men's golf, visit and click on the men's golf link.


Host: Yale

() indicate Golfweek/Sagarin rankings

1. UCLA (8)

2. Texas (7)

3. South Carolina (15)

4. Virginia (20)

5. Alabama (27)

6. East Tennessee State (Atlantic Sun Conference) (31)

7. Southeastern Louisiana (Southland Conference) (42)

8. Charlotte (Atlantic 10 Conference) (43)

9. Kent State (Mid-American Conference) (45)

10. Vanderbilt (62)

11. Penn State (74)

12. North Carolina-Wilmington (76)

13. Columbia (Ivy Group) (203)

14. Lafayette (Patriot League) (255)

Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
WGOLF Atlantic Sun Conference Championships Jekyll Island, Ga.
Apr 14 1st of 10
SB Furman 7 Johnson City, Tenn.
Apr 16 ETSU 3
SB Furman 0
Apr 16 ETSU 5
BB ETSU 6 Jacksonville, Fla.
Apr 17 Jacksonville University 13
WTRACK War Eagle Invitational Auburn, Ala.
Apr 19 Results
MTRACK War Eagle Invitational Auburn, Ala.
Apr 19 Results
MTEN ETSU 4 Jacksonville, Fla.
Apr 19 Stetson 0
Apr 19 Jacksonville University 3
Apr 19 Jacksonville 3
Apr 19 Jacksonville
Apr 19 Jacksonville University
MGOLF Atlantic Sun Championship Braselton, Ga.
Apr 20 Results
Apr 20 FGCU 1
Apr 20 North Florida 0
Apr 20 Jacksonville