ETSU's Brad Yewer Named Cross Country Freshman of the Year

Saturday, October 27, 2001

Charleston, S.C. -- Freshman Brad Yewer earns Southern Conference Freshman of the Year honors while leading the East Tennessee State men's cross country team to a sixth place finish overall in the Southern Conference Cross Country Championships hosted by the Citadel at James Island County Park. The women's team, lead by junior Rosaline Addo, finished seventh overall. Yewer finished second in the championship race with a time of 24:54. The Newbury, England native has led the Bucs all during the cross country season. Yewer finished in the top 10 in two out of four races. His best finish came at the Blue Ridge Open when he finished fourth in 25:29. In his first collegiate race, he finished in 15:50, earning a ninth place finish at the Catamount Classic. Senior Greg Sprowl finished 11th with a time of 25:15.89 at the SoCon Championships. Sophomore David Haefner finished in 25:48.12 in 22nd place. In his first Southern Conference Championships, freshman Lawrence Lockhart finished in 27:16.30 in 50th place. Senior Mike Farkas finished 69th and had a time of 28:11.08. Another Newbury, England native, Addo led the ETSU women with a time of 18:22 and finished in fourth place. Sophomore Emily Chaney earned a time of 18:50.89 and ended in 15th position. Senior Lauren Campbell finished in 19:27.81 with a 40th-place finish. Freshman Jennifer Habbestad finished her first SoCon Championship race in 19:4.71 and in 54th place. Sophomore Kim Simmons took 62th position in 20:13.02. Another freshman, Carla Akers, had a time of 21:04.78 which earned her a 70th-place finish. Senior Jennifer Howard rounds out the Bucs with a time of 21:19.55 and 74th place. Defending men's champions, Appalachian State, won the team competition while the Chattanooga women won their third title. 2001 Men's Team Results 1. Appalachian State 39 2. Chattanooga 72 3. Western Carolina 93 4. Davidson 134 5. UNC Greensboro 137 6. ETSU 144 7. Furman 147 8. The Citadel 198 9. Charleston 221 10. VMI 242 2001 Women's Team Results 1. Chattanooga 28 2. Appalachian State 74 3. Western Carolina 85 4. UNC Greensboro 108 5. Davidson 126 6. Furman 130 7. ETSU 166 8. Charleston 219 9. The Citadel 250 10. Georgia Southern 272 11. VMI 288 12. Wofford 385
Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
VB ETSU 3 Macon, Ga.
Nov 15 Mercer University 1
WBB High Point University 76 Final
Nov 17 ETSU 84
MBB Virginia-Wise 66 F
Nov 18 ETSU 111
WBB Appalachian State University 76 Final
Nov 19 ETSU 70
WBB ETSU 79 Final
Nov 21 Saint Francis University 63
VB ETSU Greensboro, N.C.
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. No. 5 Western Carolina (SoCon Quarterfinal)
MBB UNC Asheville 87 F
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. ETSU 98
Nov 24, 12:00 p.m. Winthrop 64
WBB ETSU 69 Final
Nov 24, 12:00 p.m. Indiana State University 76
WBB ETSU Bloomington, Ind.
Nov 26, 2:00 p.m. Indiana University
WBB ETSU Blacksburg, Va.
Nov 29, 5:00 p.m. Virginia Tech University
MBB ETSU Morehead, Ky.
Dec 1, 7:00 p.m. Morehead State
WBB ETSU Fairfax, Va.
Dec 3, 5:00 p.m. George Mason University
MBB Western Carolina Freedom Hall
Dec 3, 8:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Huntsville, Ala.
Dec 6, 6:00 p.m. Alabama A&M University
MBB UNC Greensboro Freedom Hall
Dec 13, 4:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB Eastern Kentucky University Johnson City, Tenn.
Dec 13, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Morehead, Ky.
Dec 15, 12:00 p.m. Morehead State University
MBB ETSU Richmond, Ky.
Dec 16, 7:00 p.m. Eastern Kentucky