ETSU men release 2010-11 basketball schedule
Coach Murry Bartow expects a challenge from this year's schedule.
Coach Murry Bartow expects a challenge from this year's schedule.

Friday, August 13, 2010

 
Road games at trio of SEC schools, opener at Kentucky,
trip to Cancun Governor's Cup over Christmas highlight slate
 
 
JOHNSON CITY, Tenn. (Aug. 13, 2010) - With a team that is coming off back-to-back championship seasons and trips to the NCAA Championships, the ETSU men's basketball program was looking for a 2010-11 schedule that would be a challenge while also preparing the team for the Atlantic Sun Conference slate.
 
Well, mission accomplished.
 
            Head coach Murry Bartow unveiled the upcoming season schedule Friday and said it offers exactly what his team is looking for this season.
           
            "We think we have a chance to be a pretty good team this year, so we wanted a schedule that gave us a chance to play the best," said Bartow, who returns every major contributor to last year's team with the exception of graduated point guard Jocolby Davis. "It's going to be a challenge and obviously tough. As a coach, it is a concern because you don't want to reach the conference season beat up and discouraged, but at the same time I think our team welcomes this type of challenge."
 
            The Buccaneers will begin the season with 10 of their first 12 games on the road, with the season opener on Nov. 12 at Kentucky (Nov. 12). Visits to other SEC schools like Mississippi State (Dec. 11) and Ole Miss (Dec. 18) come later in the year, along with a trip to Dayton (De. 1). The team will also take on traditionally strong programs such as Murray State (Nov. 15) and Charleston (Dec. 7) on the road, while facing Conference USA foe Southern Miss (Dec. 22) in the first round of the Cancun Governor's Cup.
 
            ETSU Homecoming Week will be highlighted by a visit from former Ohio Valley Conference foe Tennessee Tech (Nov. 15), and the Bucs will also enjoy a five-game home stand in league play from Jan. 21 to Jan. 31. That stretch will include visits from league rivals Belmont (Jan. 23), Lipscomb (Jan. 21) and Kennesaw State (Jan. 29). The overall schedule includes 14 home games, including two exhibitions to open the season against Carson Newman (Nov. 2) and Tusculum (Nov. 8).
 
            For more on ETSU men's basketball, visit ETSUBucs.com and click on the men's basketball link.
 
 
 
 
2010-11 ETSU Men's Basketball Schedule
 
Tuesday, Nov. 2.................. Carson Newman (exhibition), 7 p.m.
Monday, Nov. 8................................ Tusculum (exhibition), 7 p.m.
Friday, Nov. 12.......................................................... at Kentucky TBA
Monday, Nov. 15............................................... at Murray State, TBA
Saturday, Nov. 20..................................... Tennessee Tech, 4 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 27...................................................... Milligan, 4 p.m.
Wednesday, Dec. 1..................................................... at Dayton, TBA
Saturday, Dec. 4............................................ at USC Upstate, TBA *
Tuesday, Dec. 7................................ at College of Charleston, TBA
Saturday, Dec. 11 ..................................... at Mississippi State, TBA
Saturday, Dec. 18..................................................... at Ole Miss, TBA
Friday, Dec. 22-24........................... vs. Southern Miss, 2:30 p.m. &
Saturday, Dec. 23.............. Cancun Governor's Cup Semifinals &
Sunday, Dec. 24......................... Cancun Governor's Cup Finals &
Thursday, Dec. 30............................................... Campbell, 7 p.m. *
Monday, Jan. 3.......................................................... at Mercer, TBA *
Wednesday, Jan. 5.................................. at Kennesaw State, TBA *
Saturday, Jan. 8................................... Florida Gulf Coast, 4 p.m. *
Monday, Jan. 10 ..................................................... Stetson, 7 p.m. *
Thursday, Jan. 13.......................................... at North Florida, TBA * 
Saturday, Jan. 15............................................ at Jacksonville, TBA *
Friday, Jan. 21..................................................... Lipscomb, 7 p.m. *
Sunday, Jan. 23 ..................................................... Belmont, 4 p.m.*
Tuesday, Jan. 25............................................ USC Upstate, 7 p.m.*
Saturday, Jan. 29................................... Kennesaw State, 4 p.m. *
Monday, Jan. 31....................................................... Mercer, 7 p.m. *
Friday, Feb. 4......................................... at Florida Gulf Coast, TBA *
Sunday, Feb. 6......................................................... at Stetson, TBA *
Friday, Feb. 11................................................ Jacksonville, 7 p.m. *
Sunday, Feb. 13............................................. North Florida, 4 p.m. *
Thursday, Feb. 17.................................................. at Belmont, TBA *
Saturday, Feb. 19................................................ at Lipscomb, TBA *
Thursday, Feb. 24...................................... at Campbell, 7:30 p.m. *
March 2-5............................. Atlantic Sun Conference Tournament
..................................................................................... Macon, Ga., TBA
 
Home games in bold // All games listed Eastern Standard Time
* -- indicates Atlantic Sun Game
& -- indicates Cancun Governor's Cup game

Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
WBB Mercer University 49 Final
Feb 21 ETSU 70
BB ETSU 2 Spartanburg, S.C.
Feb 21 UNC-Asheville 3
MBB ETSU 59 F
Feb 21 Chattanooga 67
MGOLF Puerto Rico Classic San Juan, Puerto Rico
Feb 22 Results
BB ETSU 10 Spartanburg, S.C.
Feb 22 Pittsburgh 4
BB ETSU 9 Spartanburg, S.C.
Feb 22 USC Upstate 2
MGOLF Puerto Rico Classic San Juan, Puerto Rico
Feb 23 Results
WBB ETSU 46 Final
Feb 23 Samford University 69
MGOLF Puerto Rico Classic San Juan, Puerto Rico
Feb 24 T11 of 15
MBB ETSU 73 F
Feb 26 Citadel 74
WTRACK Southern Conference Championships Birmingham, Ala.
Feb 27 Results
MTEN Tennessee Tech 0 Bristol, Tenn.
Feb 27 ETSU 7
WTEN ETSU 6 Akron, Ohio
Feb 28 Akron 1
WTRACK Southern Conference Championships Birmingham, Ala.
Feb 28 3 of 9
BB Butler 1 Johnson City, Tenn.
Feb 28 ETSU 4
WBB ETSU 42 Final
Feb 28 University of Tennessee at Chattanooga 64
SB ETSU 10 5
Feb 28 Morehead St. 1