Sanford, Taylor earn A-Sun All-Tournament Team honors
Jeremy Taylor (left) and Jordan Sanford (right) were named to the A-Sun All-Tournament Team on Sunday.
Jeremy Taylor (left) and Jordan Sanford (right) were named to the A-Sun All-Tournament Team on Sunday.

Sunday, May 25, 2014

FT. MYERS, Fla. (May 25, 2014) – ETSU junior Jordan Sanford (Powell, Tenn.) and sophomore Jeremy Taylor (Fayetteville, Ga.) were named to the Atlantic Sun All-Tournament Team, which was announced following the championship game on Sunday.

The Buccaneer duo combined to hit .448 (13-29) for the tournament and ended the season keeping their respective streaks intact. Sanford ended the season reaching base safely in 20 straight games and Taylor ended the year with a nine-game hit streak.

For the tournament, Sanford hit .462 (6-13) with one double, one RBI and scored two runs. The junior infielder/outfielder hit safely in all three games, while posting a three-hit effort in the 5-2 setback to Stetson. Sanford began the tournament going 1-for-4 with a run scored in the extra-inning loss to Kennesaw State and went 2-for-5 with a double, run scored, and an RBI in the 7-1 victory over Mercer.

Taylor, who was named to the all-tournament team for the second straight year, was 7-for-16 (.438) with two doubles, one home run, four runs and four RBI in the three games for the Blue and Gold. The ETSU outfielder registered multi-hit games in each outing as he began the championship with two hits, one double, one run and three RBI against Kennesaw State. From there, Taylor followed up that performance with two more hits in the win over Mercer and finished with a three-hit effort versus Stetson. Taylor was a triple shy of the cycle against the Hatters as he doubled, homered and scored both of the Buccaneer runs.

Kennesaw State’s Brennan Morgan was named Tournament MVP as the Owls won their first-ever A-Sun Championship by defeating Lipscomb, 7-1, on Sunday afternoon in Ft. Myers. Joining Morgan on the all-tournament team were teammates Max Pentecost, Matt Bahnick and Bo Way. Lipscomb’s Ian Martinez-McGraw and Grant Massey, Florida Gulf Coast’s Jack English and Nick Rivera, and Stetson’s Taylor Cockrell rounded out the all-tournament team selections.

ETSU fans wanting to receive Buccaneer news, score updates, in-game promotions and much more sent to their mobile device can do so by signing up for “Buc Updates.” Click here to sign up today!

Follow ETSU Athletics on Twitter Twitter and become a fan on Facebook Facebook.
MBB Virginia-Wise 66 F
Nov 18 ETSU 111
WBB Appalachian State University 76 Final
Nov 19 ETSU 70
WBB ETSU 79 Final
Nov 21 Saint Francis University 63
VB ETSU Greensboro, N.C.
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. No. 5 Western Carolina (SoCon Quarterfinal)
MBB UNC Asheville 87 F
Nov 22, 12:00 p.m. ETSU 98
Nov 24, 12:00 p.m. Winthrop 64
WBB ETSU 69 Final
Nov 24, 12:00 p.m. Indiana State University 76
WBB ETSU 69 Final
Nov 26, 12:00 p.m. Indiana University 97
WBB ETSU Blacksburg, Va.
Nov 29, 5:00 p.m. Virginia Tech University
MBB ETSU Morehead, Ky.
Dec 1, 7:00 p.m. Morehead State
WBB ETSU Fairfax, Va.
Dec 3, 5:00 p.m. George Mason University
MBB Western Carolina Freedom Hall
Dec 3, 8:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Huntsville, Ala.
Dec 6, 6:00 p.m. Alabama A&M University
MBB UNC Greensboro Freedom Hall
Dec 13, 4:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB Eastern Kentucky University Johnson City, Tenn.
Dec 13, 7:00 p.m. ETSU
WBB ETSU Morehead, Ky.
Dec 15, 12:00 p.m. Morehead State University
MBB ETSU Richmond, Ky.
Dec 16, 7:00 p.m. Eastern Kentucky
WBB ETSU Wilmington, N.C.
Dec 19, 11:30 a.m. University of North Carolina Wilmington